Poem 2

For today, a second attempt at a poem, titled –

I don’t know what I was expecting boy

Little man, steady yourself
You don’t need to rush
It seems so far on this traverse
You don’t need to risk your health

A bump, a bruise, you try them all
They fit you like a suit
Should I try to keep them off?
Would it stop the tot in you?

I could not see who you might be
When I first laid eyes on you
A boy look, I see your face
You are me, look I am you

We look the same, my son and heir
what things will you assume?
I love how you light up my day
I love what you can do

Can I give you, some little more?
opportunities, you see
When your smiling face it looks for me
I want to open every door

Learn slow, learn fast, enjoy yourself
We shall do what we can do
I don’t know what I was expecting boy
But I’m glad that it was you

A couple of notes in respect of this one: I’m kind of enjoying the challenge and working in this form to the extent that, I want to do a bunch more poems. The irony here is that I’ve never been a fan of poetry, and that I’m starting to get more from it than I ever imagined I would.

However, whilst I will improvise Haiku (more of that tomorrow), I can’t do longer poems off the top of my head without a strong prompt for what to write about. For this one I thought of a rough idea, a little related to the previous one. Then I took 15 minutes or so with a notebook and this is pretty much what I came up with. When I typed this up this morning, I added the third to last verse. I guess you can tell this one’s about my boy. Like the previous one, this is also pretty much first person. I may attempt a different perspective for a next poem, or maybe I will keep with the similar theme. What do you think?

Lexicon word of the day: inhere.

2 comments on “Poem 2

  1. rtd14 says:

    Since I’m the mother of a 21-month-old boy, who my husband and I both adore, I relate to your poem. I think a different perspective of the subject would be wonderful! Good job!

    • mrbrainsplat says:

      Thanks Rebecca. A small child of your own sure has a way of showing you up for the fool you are, if you take my meaning. It definitely gives some perspective along with all the unexpected emotions, well unexpected to some extent, anyway.

feed the brain:

