Monday Haiku and what I learned this weekend – 19 March 2012

After two attempts at poetry this weekend (friday and sunday), it is of course Monday, and time for Haiku. Todays word prompts like last week, originate from a couple of things from the weekend. They are the cat (she got fur-minated), rain (it rained a lot on saturday, well for southern California anyway), and standing (our boy who is very tall for his age, was doing some exercise looking moves, whilst standing on his own). So here goes:

furry little cat

always leave the gift of hair

no more winter coat

Well come on dear reader, that was kind of obvious.

wet, drenched, to the bone

our garden’s life giving drink

attain momentous rain 

Actually I cannot think of a comment about that one. Ooooo, it just is.

standing here us two

welcoming milestone you do

or just to tease us?

Or as it is known in our house, related to something you don’t do when we want you to, and only do when you want to, although I’m more talking about independent walking than standing. For an infant / tot. Not that there is any need to force the issue.

Things I learned this weekend:

  • The saturday morning news claimed “It’s a wintery day in California”, because it was a bit windy, and was raining.
  • When fighting in the cage, it’s probably not a good idea to dive in for a takedown just as your opponent is trying to kick you = knockout.
  • LFC managed another trip to Wembley in the FA cup semi finals after beating Stoke 2 – 1. It might even be a merseyside derby.
  • Even on the football field some things are more important than football. On saturday, Bolton player, Fabrice Muamba collapsed off the ball with a heart attack, and had to be administered emergency treatment that thankfully saved his life. He is currently in hospital (still in a serious condition). The match was abandoned (it was 1 – 1 at the time, the game was also an FA cup quarter final).
  • Ok, I might have to rethink my views on poetry.
Have a fun week. I’m not sure yet what tomorrows post will be.

Lexicon word of the day: punctilious.

8 comments on “Monday Haiku and what I learned this weekend – 19 March 2012

  1. I happened to see that Muamba match (on TV)- so shocking. He was so lucky it happened when it did and where it did. Him being so young and fit… if anyone is going to pull through…he is.
    Love your haiku by the way… esp. the one about the cat… ;o)

    • mrbrainsplat says:

      I had the tv on for that game but I was out of the room when it happened. My wife mentioned something so I had that eerie moment of wondering what had happened and to whom. It was nice that the crowd realised it wasn’t good and were very respectful (on both sides). At least he appears to be improving although still seriously ill.

      Haiku thanks – our cat cannot sneak anywhere without leaving a trail.

  2. Jeannie says:

    life is poetry! 🙂

    • mrbrainsplat says:

      That made me remember someone once saying that to a friend of mine (when I was present). His quick reply was “and mine’s mostly full of bad poetry…” It was amusing at the time.

      I know what you mean though, it’s all just a matter of perspective.

      • Jeannie says:

        it seems to me you are writing what you know and your humor shines through…good, bad…is just someone’s opinion! Let your light shine in your own special way just the way you are! That’s ol’ granny giving her 2 cents when it wasn’t asked for 🙂 It’s what older people do…;)

  3. rtd14 says:

    It’s winter in South Carolina if it drops below 50 degrees F. I understand. It’s been in the upper 70s and lower 80s, which is too early for it. It is so wonderful you take from your weekend experiences to write Haikus. Thank you for sharing!

    • mrbrainsplat says:

      You’re welcome Rebecca!

      It made me laugh when I heard that on the news. It was raining pretty hard, yes, but when I lived in England we would get that all the time. Winter was / is generally, a lot colder.

      • rtd14 says:

        I lived in Canterbury when I was in England. The winter was not bad. It might’ve been the year. The seasons changed quicker, kind of like now. It inspired me to write though.

feed the brain:

