Yikes – Blog Awards for me?

Okey Dokey then. A bonus post today. Coincidentally it is my 50th post on this blog. I didn’t save it for this one but it seems a nice fit.

This has been sitting in my pile of “to do” for the last week or so. Over this period I have been kindly nominated for four blog awards. 1) “The Versatile Blogger award” by L.S. Engler, you can read her fab blog here. 2) the “Kreativ blogger” by The View outside, you can read Vikki’s fab blog here. 3) & 4) “Candle Lighter award” and “One lovely blog award” by A word or more, you can read Rebecca’s fab blog here. I try to keep up and read all three of these blogs, and I thank you all for kindly thinking of me.


I think it is in my nature to not take praise too well, so I would normally gripe about blog awards being a little bit like blog spam or something. However I have found since doing the blog that there is a nice community of blog writers around, plenty of people having something to say, and many ways in which we help each other here. I like, the idea of the blog awards in that they are a means to highlight other blogs in the community, and someone has to have at least read something of yours in order to consider you.

The first two awards have some rules which I shall get to in a moment. I should add that many blogs I read already have these awards so I’m assuming I cannot give them again (although I could be wrong), and it makes passing the awards on a little difficult. t also does make me feel like I’m a little late to the party in that regard. Some of these blogs get an honourable mention at the end of the post. I don’t have the time to read too many blogs. I’m therefore going to cheat a little bit and combine the two. The uncombined rules are as follows.

The Rules:

The Versatile Blogger

    1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.
    2. Share seven things about yourself.
    3. Pass this award along fifteen or twenty.
    4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.
Kreativ blogger
    1. List seven facts about yourself
    2. Pass this award on to seven other bloggers who you think deserve it.
    3. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.
The combined rules i.e. what I shall do are, 1) Seven facts about me, 2) Some blog awards for each award, but I apologise in that I don’t feel I can give the full number yet. But then on the other hand I suppose I can save some for later huh? When I’ve had chance to give more blogs more reading time and therefore proper consideration. 3) The lucky nominees will be contacted. So without further ado, drum roll, imaginary drummer please:
1) Seven Facts about me:
  1. My real first name (I write this blog anonymously, but some have asked me my name in comments, what is MrBrainsplats a bit odd to reply to?) is Elliot.
  2. I think American cheese is pretty damn bland. “Sharp Cheddar” is about as sharp as a bowl of warm water. I try to buy imported cheeses.
  3. I love my Macbook Pro. Not wanting to blab on about Apple products but this thing is great for writing on, editing photos and video, and a whole load more stuff.
  4. I’m from the UK, but I live in Orange county, California. The weather is mostly great, I like the area and many of the people. I miss some of my family back home.
  5. I believe If the dead rise, you don’t want to be living near this place – Rosehills Cemetery. It is the largest cemetery in the United States.
  6. I’m a huge music fan, I could probably waffle on about it right now and make a long, long, post. But I won’t.
  7. I used to write a lot when I was younger. Then I stopped. I’ve been getting back into it with this blog. It’s great fun, I shall be using this muse towards my other projects (in a round about way).
2) The blog nominees
The Versatile blogger nominees:
  • A Word or more – I was typing this post yesterday and already had Rebecca down for this one. Then I spotted she had nominated me for the ones mentioned above. I’m therefore even more happy to pass this one on to her.
  • SuperRadNow – A cool look, and a good mix of interesting stuff like this one from the other day.
  • Armand Rosamilia – Armand is a horror writer with numerous books available on Amazon. He also gets plenty of other horror writers involved in compilation releases.

The Kreativ blogger nominees:

  • The Color Lime – For poems and other posts.
  • The Vibes – I Like the look of his blog, plus he writes about things I like e.g. “The Avalanches”.
  • I made you a mix tape – Writing about music, what’s not to like.
  • News Collector – Collects interesting news items
  • Erin Writes – A fairly new one for me, but I can see she writes interesting stuff.

 “Candle Lighter award” and “One lovely blog award” nominees:

  • L S Engler – I like what she writes, which is the reason she is getting this one, and was kind enough to nominate me (see above).

Some honorary mentions (other blogs I read a lot which have a bags full of blog awards already):

There are plenty more but I’m running out of typing time, so apologies to those I have missed. The blog community is a great find, and I guess I have some nominations left to use, when I have done more reading and have more time.

Thanks all.

27 comments on “Yikes – Blog Awards for me?

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    Eeeee! New awards! Thanks for nominating me, Elliot BrainSplats. : )

    I’ve always found that the most difficult thing about the blog awards is the spam effect, too, the passing it along to other people. Usually, most people have already received the award or I feel bad being all, “HEY. I LIKE YOUR BLOG NOW DO THIS OR ELSE…SOMETHING.” So I usually just pass them along to newer blogs that I love and want to give a little Appreciation High Five to.

    …and now I’m tempted to create a Blogger High Five award. Damn.

    So cool to see you get so many awards. You definitely deserve them. (And I hope your visit to Chitown and the Shedd was grand, even with the lack of narwhals).

    • L.S. Engler says:

      Ha. Wait. I’m getting my awesome blogs confused. It was someone else who went to the Shedd. GO ME.

      Well, if you ever DO visit the Shedd Aquarium, I hope you enjoy it despite the lack of Narwhals, all the same.

      • mrbrainsplat says:

        Yes the nominating thing is definitely a bit difficult, but in the end I figured I would nominate some and if they want to participate, and nominate ones they feel worthy, then they can.

        I’m figuring there ought to be some kind of monthly blog award e.g. with two runner ups, or something along those lines. Don’t think I would like to maintain it though.

        You did make me wonder about that last sentence, I thought it might be some joke I didn’t get.

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    Congratulations Elliot 🙂

    Four Awards and 50 blog posts > what a blast! Mr Brainsplat!

    Thank you for mentioning me and that Haiku exchange with Jeannie. Truly I appreciate this.

    Happy blogging and look forward to your 100th Post…just added pressure did I?

    – Eric

  3. Lauren says:

    Congratulations!

  4. lostupabove says:

    Congratulations. I know Eric and Jeannie, good choices.

  5. Congratulations honey.

    Much deserved! 🙂

    xx

  6. Jeannie says:

    Elliot! Brainsplats has a name!! Congratulations–you are very deserving! And thank you for the kind words! 🙂

  7. First of all, thank you so much for your nomination, which I gladly accept, and second of all- thank you also for opening my eyes that yes, these nominations ARE important (and not “spam”), we as bloggers are a community and should (and do!) support each other- I have found many fabulous, creative and insightful people and blogs (like you and yours) through blogging, and from now on- I will be paying it forward… ;o)

    • Elliot says:

      You’re welcome. I was also a bit sceptical at first but then I realised the same thing. Yes there are good people in this blog community with different things to say. Giving people a nod, some credit, a hand or whatever, is a nice thing to do for it.

  8. Congratulations on your blog awards Elliot and thanks for the mention of my blog. Extra thanks for the “like” you gave me for my post today, which is probably the most “dubious” writing exercise I’ve ever just thrown up there, because I was feeling impulsive and felt like posting it while not really caring if anyone else loved it or hated it.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Chris!

      Often the impulsive ones can be more fun. There are lots of decent blogs around but we can all be guilty of some “samey” ones from time to time. It’s the different, odd, or whatever you want to call them, which add a bit more personality.

  9. Thanks so much for the award (and sorry it took so long for me to say so!). Alas, we could never eat cheese together. I like my cheese bland (if I like it at all, and usually I don’t). Provolone is about as crazy as I get :).

    • Elliot says:

      You’re welcome Erin.

      Actually, American cheese being bland is an English stereotype. I was just happy to politely point it out to my American readers (although admittedly I do complain about it to my wife).

  10. […] me into a fan girl, check out their fabulous van sessions), and fellow blogger Elliot at Brain Splats gave Mixtape an award. Now, I have received awards before. This is by no means “I’m so […]

  11. DyingNote says:

    I dropped in here through I Made You A Mixtape, which is one of the music blogs that I visit quite regularly. You do make your point, but I’m still not quite comfortable. Appreciation is great especially from someone that you’ve developed respect for over time but often awards lose their intent, pretty soon becoming a game of tote ’em up. But that’s just me – if I were a musician I’d probably be a reclusive indie 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      I know what you are saying, there is a bit of that sure, and I definitely was in two minds about what to do with the first one. I didn’t like the must send to “x” amount and there is quite a lot of awards saying the same thing. I wondered if they would be better served as a monthly award where people can nominate and there is a few winners, or an idea along those lines.

      However when I was about to moan a little I realised the points I mentioned in the post. You do not have to participate if you don’t want to, and it is just a good means of promoting other blogs who may gain e.g. readers, from it. I found a few that way. I didn’t go for the full number of nominations as I just don’t read enough other blogs to do it justice. But I could mention some that I do get chance to read and obviously like.

      Oh, and I can see you write about the sort of thing I like to read so I will be checking your blog out. The irony of course being how I found out about it!

  12. Mark says:

    I haven’t thanked you for my Kreativ Blogger Award, so cheers, Elliot and I’ll be posting something soon!

  13. […] poetry. I want to thank Elliot for the Versatile Blogger award nomination. Please visit his awesome blog. Freyamorel writes with a unique and talented insight, and has nominated me for the Sunshine […]

  14. Accepting can be quite a job. I hope I don’t get anymore. My fav movies, 3 fav corlors, my fav place….I’m 62 not in middle school.
    But I have appreciated so much the kind thoughtfulness of people nominating and really do value that they found my blog worthwhile and took the time to so publicize. So congrats and your awards are deserved.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Carl – Yes the “this and that” about yourself seems a little like blog spam at first, and not a favourite part for me. However the community aspect is the main thing, and it’s nice to recognise others, especially when someone has taken time to do it for you.

feed the brain:

