Poem 5 – There’s nothing worse than going to the post office

After yesterdays regular Haiku post and a “bonus” post on some blog awards I was lucky enough to have been nominated for, I shall be keeping it to the one today.

This is a fifth poem and on a different subject to the previous ones (I’ll probably go back to that subject area again). It is inspired by a commercial which I featured in a previous post. One that infuriates me every time I see and hear it, which seems to be a lot. It is one for stamps.com which has the annoying bloke with the classic line “There’s nothing worse than going to the post office and waiting in line”. No nothing worse. I really wish I could find a link for it so the non North American readers could see it. The odd thing is, the product is probably very good, but that bloke, he starts the commercial off, it’s like prodding me with a stick every time. I literally want to shout out “Oh come on” the very instant he starts to speak. So with that in mind:

There’s nothing worse than going to the post office

There’s nothing worse than going to the post office
and waiting in line
except maybe stubbing your toe
a sharp jolt and falling to the floor.

Or maybe someone punching you
a wallop on the arm
or in the face, raining down
a sodden, windy day

a smell of fresh bread and dog poo
a fetid gulp of air
sliding under water
life ebbing away

a lover lost
a meal alone
no will to eat
dark void of night

Finding out your friend
is bitter, twisted, and gone
a fallen bird with broken wing
no will to sing and laugh

There is nothing worse then going to the post office
and waiting in line
except maybe waking up on saturday
and realising it is monday

This one, as I mentioned in a previous post with its more throwaway companion, was written in the back of a car whilst stuck in LA traffic. My own opinion, I like this one.

As a Postscript, I used the following video in the previous post that I referred to at the top of this one, but it is worth watching again for anyone who knows the commercial.

Lexicon word of the day: pseudo-cleft.

4 comments on “Poem 5 – There’s nothing worse than going to the post office

  1. Howsa about a follow-up on why, the particulars at the post office. I have often wanted to do one waiting in line at Walgreen’s or the grocery store as Miami is 51% foreign born and believe me it shows not only on the customers but in the workers as well. Not enough money, ins card expired, debit card don’t know pin, , change mind after ring up……Thanks visit my blog.

  2. Colleen Bartell says:

    I have cancer, I think that is worse. Wish the post office would ditch this commercial.

feed the brain:

