Monday Haiku and what I learned this weekend – 16 April 2012

The view from Friday afternoon (well not my view, I pinched it from the Total Traffica – click image to view said site):

So this weeks weekend relevant prompts, for Monday Haiku are:

  1. Rain storm – It rained pretty heavily on friday afternoon. Well pretty heavily for southern California.
  2. TV warning – A warning appeared on the tv (at&t) warning of the storm above, about 20 minutes after it was already here. I’m pretty sure we knew about it at this point. I’m all for warnings of serious weather problems, I’m just in favour of the warning actually being a warning, and letting you know in advance.
  3. A cold -Yep, got one of those over the weekend, somewhat disrupting my plans to work on some story writing.

So here we go:

Dripping down my back

garden feeding, giving life

Shelter from rain storm 

I didn’t want to mention leaky roof, were I to have one, but it would have fit. Oh might have beens, huh?

Huh? Whats that outside?

Storm warning on my tv

Think it’s already here

Slightly crazy that message, but it kind of wrote it’s own Haiku.

Cold, groggy, tired

Cold, life draining energy

No story with cold

Is it the return of bonus Haiku? Ok, it “returned” the last two weeks, be quiet at the back. A word prompt of Freedom (which I sort of pinched from Eric Alagan’s sunday post):

I say what I wish

Fire the neurons in my mind

Use the word freedom

Things I learned this weekend:

  • I’m wondering who would be so engrossed in their tv that they fail to notice the weather outside, and therefore the late tv warning message would come as useful news to them.
  • When you write a post about spam, suddenly that post will get more spam than any other post. I really wish I had made a count. Just over the weekend I think I had about 15 just for the spam post.
  • Colds are no good for helping you write a story.
  • The rule “If Jennifer Aniston is in the film, it is probably s**t (with the exception to the rule being Office space)”, may longer be as true. Yes I watched Horrible bosses at the weekend. She was actually very good as the sex obsessed dentist, so much so that for the first 20 minutes or so, my brain was having trouble acknowledging it was her.
  • Liverpool Football club can make a second final in a season, this time for the FA cup. In just under three weeks they face Chelsea.

Afternoon update: Oh I meant to add earlier but forgot, Coachella would have been cool this weekend. Check out the full Radiohead set here:

And Pulp’s full performance here:

 

Have a fun week.

Lexicon word of the day: Yomp.

11 comments on “Monday Haiku and what I learned this weekend – 16 April 2012

  1. crubin says:

    That second Haiku made me laugh. Kind of like getting warned about the incoming golf ball after it wacks you in the head.

    Loved the movie “Horrible Bosses.” They were all well-cast in that one, but I thought Charlie Day was especially funny.

    • Elliot says:

      It was crazy that message, it had been raining really hard / heavily for about 15-20 minutes beforehand. It made me laugh at the time.

      I enjoyed Horrible bosses as well. Many of the cast were good, even Colin Farrell as the coked up son (Colin was excellent in “In Bruges”).

      • crubin says:

        I should have known you’d like “In Bruges.” What a wonderful movie. My husband and I laughed so hard at that one. Didn’t get the recognition it deserved. In fact, I may need to watch that one again. It’s been awhile.

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    That weather ‘warning’ – their cousins work in Traffic in Singapore > usually warn you of a congestion when you are already caught in it or headed for it (with no turn-off)…

  3. Jeannie says:

    that second one is too funny! Reminds me of our winter storm warnings here…a few inches may be expected…while I measure in feet! Surprise!!

    Elliot…you must be in spam heaven about now…:)

    • Elliot says:

      In turn you have reminded me how when I was back in England my wife (from southern California) got to know the meaning of the weather forecaster saying “sun and showers”, by which he usually meant, ignore any hint of sun and prepare for rain. She was constantly amazed by how it could be like a storm one minute, then 15 minutes later, the grey clouds have gone only for the sun to come out, then the rain to appear again 15 minutes after that. Repeat cycle.

      Well he did say sun and showers…

  4. Ha ha ha…..love it! You write a post about Spam and get even more than usual *snigger* GRRRR! 😉

    Xx

  5. DyingNote says:

    If nothing else, I’ve got curious about haikus thanks to your posts 🙂

feed the brain:

