Haiku – I’ll face this day

Tomorrow is Record Store day, a chance for music fans to collect some exclusive releases and support Independent stores. Me, I’m planning to head to Amoeba in Hollywood. I love that store, and this is as good excuse as any.

For todays post, more three Haiku poems also reading as a larger one. Inspiration, using a word prompt from a song same as on this post. This one takes a line from Love’s “You set the scene” (from their classic “Forever changes” album). Love were an L.A. band who never toured much and never had the sales to match their critical acclaim. The forever changes album is a genuine rock classic. It is one of those albums that get better with repeated listens, even years later after first hearing it. Check out the live version of you set the scene below. The line I used is I’ll face each day with a smile.

disaster struck me
lost my home in a bad storm
many memories gone

Large pile of nothing
fun times shared in this abode
now time to move on

My family is safe
I’ll face each day with a smile
deliver new life

Lexicon word of the day: asperity.

8 comments on “Haiku – I’ll face this day

  1. I’ll be heading to revival Records in Soho tomorrow…;o) I have never heard of Love before- they sound killer live! I may just have to hit the ol’itunes on this one… love the haiku btw!

    • Elliot says:

      Forever changes is a real classic and by far their best. You can probably get it cheap in soho, if not at Revival, maybe up at Sister Ray. Arthur Lee is a classic up and down story, but he was able to do a good live recording of Forever changes a few years before he died, which is where this clip is from.

      Have fun tomorrow. – I love Amoeba. If you ever visit LA or San Francisco and you like your music shops, then Amoeba is a must.

      • I lived in LA for 10 years! I cannot believe I never went to Amoeba!?!?

      • Elliot says:

        Me either given your blog. It is such a good shop, especially now, when so many music shops are disappearing.

        I live in Orange County, but as you know, it’s not too far to get into LA, just the traffic will be terrible on the way back.

  2. A family lost home and everything they owned here in Miami today to fire.

  3. Jeannie says:

    I’ve seen this happen more than once to neighbors, one by a fire, and another by a tornado that skipped over our place (uprooted trees) and hit their home while Mama was in hospital with a new baby! In that particular case, I’m glad they weren’t home at the time! So heart-wrenching!!

    Rock out at the record store! 🙂

feed the brain:

