Ok Like button, lets see what you got

This is the view from a post last week:

Yes if you liked that particular post, you get to have your mugshot on this one. The like button huh, it might be a bloggers best friend.

It might not as well. One afternoon I was sitting around moaning and groaning. “What are you moaning about?” said my wife. “I don’t think my like button is working” I replied. “Well that post was a dull one”, she said. She was right. It was. Apart from that conversation only happened in my head just now. But I have done, <ahem> the occasional dull post, and some are just liked better than others. What does it really tell you? When is it appropriate? Ok I’m going to pretend your a newbie, and waffle on about it anyway. This is my guide to the Like button, expect the cynic in me to rear it’s head soon.

When to use it:

  • At it’s most simple it is when you like a post. You click it, blogger poster thinks, someone likes the ramblings from my brain.
  • If you read a whole bunch of blogs, you might not be able to comment all the time. This is not being rude, it is simply acknowledging something positive. I try to keep up with a whole bunch of different blogs and I have more time on some days on others. When I have more time I try to add more comments. If I don’t will often press like.
  • Or you might not have a comment. A like gives something back.
  • You just want to be nice.

When not to use it:

  • When you are just trying to boost your own stats and hoping for a like in return. I’ve seen a few of these faces around on other blogs, ones who rarely if at all comment. I sometimes wonder if they have even read the post at all.
  • When you do have time to comment. Comments are nicer in my opinion. Although I suppose you could do both. Um, now I’n wondering if praising a blog goes in the order of 1) Like, 2) Comment, 3) Like and Comment. Or am I reading too much into it? Hmm? I won’t complain if you comment and like me. Well truth be told I won’t complain about either. Am I a like whore? Maybe I am. Don’t be offended if I only press like on one of your posts, I don’t use this ranking system that I just invented. Erm moving swiftly on…
  • When the context of the subject matter is not appropriate. 1) I’ve seen a recent post where someone was asking for some advice as her toddler was ill. Someone had clicked like. What were they liking, the fact that the toddler was ill? Were they liking the fact that the mother had asked for any advice? It might be me, but I tend to think in certain circumstances, either contribute or don’t. 2) I’ve read a couple of posts over the past month or two where a relative had passed away and the blogger was explaining their feelings. Click Like. What were you liking, the fact that a relative had died and the blogger was upset? That it was a touching tribute? The latter might be more appropriate, but I would usher in the context. Some supportive or positive comments, might be more appropriate, or nothing. Β This point is turning into a rant. Perhaps it is just me.
  • When the content is inappropriate. I recently noticed this in a well known chain supermarket:

It’s at an everyday low price too. Yay! I think I have at least one regular reader who will appreciate that picture. But if the picture was the post would it be one to Like ? Ok well it sort of would, because it is amusing, but clicking like might suggest you liked the kit and price, as opposed to the humour of it. Or to put it another way, you might hesitate to click like.

Um, that’s it. Have I missed something? See I like the Like button. Feel free to like or comment on me as much as possible.Β Some of these rules also apply to the like in Facebook.

I must confess I’ve never used the rate article stars thing that some blogs have. Not sure of the point of that. Too much to worry about. What only two stars?!? Not tried a poll yet either, but I suspect they would be more use for blogs with heaps and heaps or readers. Maybe. Don’t worry, I won’t be doing posts about those. Yet.

Lexicon word of the day: Well-knit.

39 comments on “Ok Like button, lets see what you got

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    I like the Like button, too. I also like Liking a post and commenting, if I have anything to say, but I don’t always have anything clever. But liking a post about the LIke button, clicking the Like button, and then saying that I like it is just hard to refuse.

    • Elliot says:

      I do too. I sometimes think I’m going to comment on a post, then when I get to the end, my mind goes blank. So then I only have the like to press.

  2. kloipy says:

    I don’t know if I’m the blogger who would like that picture, but I did anyway, made me laugh really hard. ‘Ready to Use Enemas: For the Constipated on the Go!’

  3. robincoyle says:

    I’ve been tempted to blog about this too but you did it perfectly for me. I have the same feelings. I’ve seen blog posts with 436 “likes” and it is a picture of a toaster. What is up with that? I think to myself. rather than sweating about what interesting thing I am going to post, I should just take up small appliance photography.

    I am giving your post a sincere “like” AND “comment.

  4. I’ve had it happen where I just posted and the like button is pressed before I could blink my eyes, so I’m fairly certain they couldn’t have read it. But I delude myself into thinking that perhaps they’re busy at the moment and plan to come back later but want to show support πŸ™‚ Yeah, I can tell myself anything…

    • Elliot says:

      Once I accidentally did that on someone’s post. I was opening up the reader on the wordpress app on my phone, and the phone slipped. As I tried to grab it I liked the post, and it was one which was posted about a minute before. But then I could not unlike it so I gave that one away for free. I quite possibly did read it afterwards. That blogger probably has me pegged as a serial liker / non-reader.

  5. Ann Marquez says:

    OH NO don’t over analyze πŸ˜‰ Just when I was feeling comfy about it all. I ‘Like’ supporting others and so I Love the ‘Like’ button. But most of the time commenting gives me an unhealthy anxiety, especially right before going to bed. I’ll toss and turn with regret, obsessing over my stupid comment(s) and vowing to only ‘Like’ and to never ever comment again. I say I’m ‘Comment Challenged’ like GW, John Mayer or Rick Perry because I’m just not quick and witty.

    Then I’ve heard others complain about people who just go around ‘liking’ to get hits. And I don’t want to be one of those. So OMG … this has turned into too much pressure any which way! πŸ˜€ Long story short πŸ˜‰ I never say anything insincere, but I know how lonely it is to never have anyone like or comment. Ah geeze now I’m rambling and writing a novel here… see what happens when I comment? Anyhow, I Like your post. Seriously. πŸ˜€ Don’t Think about that and just ‘like’ it. πŸ˜‰

    • Elliot says:

      I never thought too much about the words I’ve put into someone else’s comment box other than to make sure it is not offensive, so I would say don’t you worry about that. They should be thankful for the comment!

      I was kind of interested in the like button where it ought to be straight forward but actually brings with it some ambiguity or is open to some abuse. Mind you, it is good abuse isn’t it? – Yes I think I should stop now.

  6. Nice job covering this subject. I “comment” on all posts that are written well. That’s my thing. I care about the writing. I “like” a post I enjoy for content. I may or may not comment. If I “like and comment,” then good content, good writing. Incidentally, I visited your site earlier and tried to “like” your post by clicking on the picture of the like app. I couldn’t figure out why it would not work! So, obviously you have just gotten the opinion of someone who is not the sharpest crayon in the box. All joy in having fun in the wonderful world of blogging. HF

    • Elliot says:

      Oh no, now there are more rules!

      I had not given it much thought, but I think I comment if the post triggers something in me and therefore invites it, or if I think I can add to the discussion. A like is if I think the post is good anyway. But I don’t always have time to comment so the like is at least an acknowledgment if nothing else.

  7. crubin says:

    Hmmm, were you referring to me as the reader who would enjoy the enema pic? Well, if you were, you were correct. But I enjoyed it only from a helpful medical therapy standpoint, of course…

    I use the like button when I comment or when I don’t have time to comment but I read the post and want the blogger to know I stopped by.

    As for the ratings, I just started using those, but it’s only for my own purposes. I can get a summary of the posts that received the highest ratings to see what people enjoyed. Well, that’s the theory, anyway. So far, it hasn’t been clicked much by readers.

    • Elliot says:

      Yes that was you, but I thought it was funny when I saw it in the store. It was opposite the baby foods. My wife was picking some baby goods up and I happened to glance across.

      I sometimes use the like to show I dropped by. Probably should have included that one in the list.

  8. Eric Alagan says:

    Because WP does not give much leeway – Like/Like & Comment/Ignore

    1. Like you (pun unintended) I usually tick ‘like’ as my calling card when I like the post but have nothing to add

    2. I post comments only if I have something to contribute or compliment.

    3. Where I do not even like a post > usually those that resort to profanity and slurs on any particular group – I don’t even want you to know that I visited.

    • Elliot says:

      I suppose as there is not much leeway for contribution, that is why you can add ratings if you wish. I don’t think they are that useful. I never use them on anyone’s blog as I think they are too personal. That said, I have no idea whether it lets the blogger know who rated or whether it remains anonymous.

  9. I use the “like” button a lot πŸ™‚ Usually when I’ve enjoyed reading a post but I don’t really have anything to say lol. Often, it’s because I’m late to the party and what I wanted to say has already been said by someone else lol

    Now, if I really enjoyed the post you get a “like” and a comment lol πŸ˜‰

    Xx

    • Elliot says:

      Something else I didn’t mention in the post (which you’ve probably experienced yourself) is that certain types of post draw in more comments than others, while certain types get more likes. It does’t necessarily mean one is read less than the other. One might just be easier to talk about.

  10. Smaktakula says:

    I often use both the “Like” button and comment (as seen here!). I’m more likely to use the “LIKE” as it’s easier, and as sometimes people have already made comments far better than any I could do (again, as seen here!).

  11. Dan says:

    I feel a little bit late to this party, but I thought I’d throw in my two cents. As a long time Blogger user who converted to WordPress, I find that I do enjoy the “like” button and was something that was really missing from the Blogger experience. Although I write my blog for me by and large, it’s nice to know that someone’s reading the stuff I post and even better to know someone enjoyed the content. I’m not a comment slut by any stretch of the imagination, but I do like them. My wife has told me that sometimes my posts are of the ilk that there just isn’t that much to say in response to them, which is fine. Ergo, the like button is kind of nice.

    Blogging is one of those classic “alone together” type of experiences. It’s ultimately a solitary experience, but also very public so that you kind of invite people into that solitude. At least that’s how it is for me.

    • Elliot says:

      I’m not really complaining about it, I do think it is useful, and I’m the same in that sometimes there just isn’t a comment to add, but you can acknowledge you enjoyed reading. I think I more wanted to dress up my complaints on how I have seen the like “abused”. You can probably guess which points in the when not to use it.

      That said it ha provoked some interesting discussion in how different users use it slightly differently.

      • Dan says:

        Oh, I didn’t interpret you as complaining about it – I share many of the same feelings you do regarding the like button. It’s very similar to how many people can “like” things on Facebook.

        That said, don’t get me started on a “dislike” button. There’s enough pain in the world already! πŸ˜‰

      • Elliot says:

        I agree, I think if you really dislike something you can ignore it, or if you dislike but have valid reasons you can comment to that effect.

        Obviously idiotic comments like “you’re wrong, you’re such a **** ” are pointless and offensive.

  12. Mark says:

    There could be a Special Button over on the Religion topic page, where every time you press, the authorities are alerted and stage an intervention? Wouldn’t that be fun, people? πŸ˜‰

    • Elliot says:

      Good idea – I should be kept away from Religious posts, I commented on one the other day as I disagreed with a couple of points, and it turned into quite a long reply.

  13. I like the Like button, but I first became suspicious about the Likes I received when I wrote a rushed article and admitted that it wasn’t my best work by a long shot – ironically it became the most “liked” one quickly.
    If somebody posts a nice photo with just a title I don’t feel the urge to comment for 10 minutes in return. But if people actually have something to say about it…

    • Elliot says:

      I think I use the like button even less since this post, but blogs I regularly read, tend to get commented on. I’ve met some nice people / other bloggers this way.

  14. It really depends on the situation – photography is a good example. If somebody just puts up a photo without any explanation you could argue that this person is just looking for attention, too. Sure, you could ignore the photo completely by not liking it – but what if it’s a nice photo? Doesn’t it deserve some kind of appreciation?
    Liking text-based articles without reading them is just plain stupid, I totally agree with that. But maybe the Like button wasn’t made for that? Maybe it was made for photos and brain farts, while the comments sections are for serious replies to serious articles? The right tool for the right purpose…

    • Elliot says:

      Without reading all the comments again, I think it became clear that people use it in different ways. Some for attention yes, others to make a point, others just to acknowledge they were dropping by. Plus not everyone who reads is in the wordpress loop and even wants to use the like button. The ones that bug me are the ones who clearly do not read your posts but press like in the hope you will go back and read their posts, i.e. to generate an audience for them.

      Thanks for dropping by, and your comments.

feed the brain:

