Back to the Future Trilogy – The alternative take

What do you need to know about it?

Back to the Future was a film released and set in 1985. High school student Marty McFly gets accidentally sent 30 years into the past, stops his parents falling in love, has to make amends, invents Rock n Roll, and has to find a way back to the present, using a thunderstorm. It was followed up by an ok second film set in the future and past, then a fabulous final chapter mostly set in 1885. Blah, blah, blah. Oh come on man, it’s Back to the Future, who doesn’t know about it?

Dr Emmett Brown. The Delorean. Flux capacitor. Mr Fusion. The infamous skateboard scene. The manure. The Frisbee. 1.21 Gigawatts.

The first film is a classic of “modern” cinema, and if you are interested in (film) scriptwriting has next to no wastage what so ever. It’s about as perfect a script as a drama / comedy is going to get.

Where did I first become acquainted?

I definitely didn’t see it at the cinema. I was only 10 at the time. I think it was the big film on xmas day tv a few years later (these were times when films took forever to get onto video, then even longer to reach tv). By that point it was already becoming a film of legend. I loved it. I saw part two at the cinema and queued for a couple of hours at our local cinema to see part three. Oh, those were the days. Yeah, the days before multiplexes. Queueing up in the hot sun – sucker. I’ll conveniently forget that I do the same thing now at Disneyland, waiting for a ride.

I think I watch the trilogy almost once a year. I have them on blu-ray now. I have a Back to the Future t-shirt. That sounds a bit odd doesn’t it? Um, I also have the recent Back to the future games on the Mac as well. I didn’t call my kid Marty before you ask.

When I first visited America, and actually to the house I now live in, I thought the street looked like it was out of Back to the Future. Well it is southern California isn’t it? It sort of does.

What to buy:

The trilogy set on DVD, or if you have a Blu-ray player, it is much better on that.

 

Anything related to look at:

Read the wiki page. Check out this site if you want to discuss plot holes (you can google several sites for that). Check out the official geek site BTTF here. It’s worth clicking on just to watch the brief intro, if nothing else. Although you can order a replica hoverboard. Hmm… And all manner of other back to the future related things / junk.

Anything else?

Check out the recent Back to the future adventure / puzzle games (they are along the same lines as the Secret of Monkey Island games if you ever played those). Available on Mac / PC, PS3, maybe something else. It is in five parts, (I think I’m about half way through), and is set after the trilogy finishes. Doc has got into more trouble, Marty has to get out and rescue him.

Type “Back to the future parody” into the youtube search function and see what appears. Lots of bad ones and some good ones like this “Downfall” spoof:

 

Oh, in my past I had worked for a time at a power company. There was this thickie sales guy who would always mis-estimate things. My manager of the time, and I would always refer to him as “1.21 gigawatts”, often in the Doc voice. Ok, you probably had to be there.

Lexicon word of the day: artifice.

16 comments on “Back to the Future Trilogy – The alternative take

  1. Thanks for ‘taking me back’ with this post. I always liked these movies…

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Sheila, it was a quick and fun one to write. I think Back to the future is one of those films like The Goonies, where for people of my generation it will always be a classic.

  2. Dan says:

    I thought I was the only one in the world that thought that Back To The Future Part 3 was fantastic. Most everyone I’ve talked to talks about how much they disliked it. For me, it’s on par with the first one in terms of quality. My brother does a perfect impression of Doc Brown on the train screaming “CLARA!” I also enjoy the parody film trailer for “Brokeback to the Future” which uses clips from that film.

    I actually did see the first one on the big screen – I remember riding my bike home from the theater. I was probably 12 or 13. Good times. Well, kind of!

    • Elliot says:

      I don’t think it is as good as the first one because that one had a clever self contained story, that worked well (even if it doesn’t entirely make sense if you think too much about the details) but I do think the third one is still a good film, and a good ending to the series.

  3. crubin says:

    Talk about a blast from the past! Funny thing is, my 12 year old son now watches them and loves them. The 80s. What a decade. And I don’t necessarily mean that in a good way. πŸ™‚

    • Elliot says:

      It’s funny that we are only three years off the “future” that was in BTTF 2! I do love them, they first one would definitely be in my top ten have films.

  4. 80s had the best movies…. I did see the original (well, all 3) at the cinema…the first one is still my favourite. I remember thinking how Marty was so cool with his skateboard…lmao!

    • Elliot says:

      Marty was cool, he just looks a little 80’s naff through current eyes. The first one is by far the best, there is minimal waffle and wastage, it is funny, and every scene moves it forward a little.

      I remember the first time I came to the states in 2007, going to the universal studios tour and seeing the building that was used for the town hall / clock tower. It was great. I then noticed that same building in loads of films afterwards. I think it might have burnt down in a fire sometime afterwards.

  5. Wow, what a blast from the past….I LOVED these films πŸ™‚

    The first one will always be my favourite though πŸ˜‰

    Xx

  6. Haven’t seen it in years, but I really enjoyed “Back to the Future” when I saw it, and I also liked “Back to Hitler’s Future” Lol

feed the brain:

