Poem – My Heart is full

Click on the picture above for a site of cool artworks of hearts, love and such. It is pretty good. From me, a little poem, a tale of the heart:

My heart is full

My head told my heart
one time it will be you
but if it doesn’t reach the door
how will it go through?
it doesn’t know the address
it has another home
it just leaves me alone

My eyes told my head
look back this way
you both took the same detour
tell me now
what should I do?
I’m travelling without a map
she’ll follow you
she knows not the way
she and you both
will find the route through

My head told my heart
how did it get like this?
a life has fallen apart
but you built it up to a better place
you let her come into stay
you moved house, made wed
you made child instead

My heart told my head
I feel cosy now
I don’t know what I did
should I feel content
I do
I’m not alone in this

My head thought to itself
it worked somehow
and now
my heart is full

Lexicon word of the day: circumlocution.

13 comments on “Poem – My Heart is full

  1. Jeannie says:

    who can explain the way of love Elliot? “My heart is full” says it all…
    xoxo

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Jeannie. How are your withdrawals going?

      • Jeannie says:

        Terrible Elliot. I’m struggling. I have the caffeine down though–at least that’s a success.

      • Elliot says:

        Oh dear. Well some success. Do a quick search on youtube for government no smoking adverts / commercials (especially the UK ones). That might help with quitting smoking

      • Jeannie says:

        LOL! Already did that…:(

      • Elliot says:

        I’m afraid my best advice is (I was just about to put “suck it up” but it’s probably not appropriate in the context), to just get on with it.

        Actually an alternative thing (my dad did this) is just to say that’s it. If you’re still having the occasional one, tell yourself this is the last one, and enjoy it for that. It’s a mental thing. You think about any struggles anyone in your family, or anyone you might know is having and put it into context. Turn the page, say that is all over, think about the weight now off your shoulder, and before long it will be. I know it is easier said then done, but you just need to mentally turn the page (well according to my dad anyway).

      • Jeannie says:

        Good advice Elliot. Yes, easier said than done but not impossible! I will keep trying–over and over and over…:)

  2. You capture the mind vs heart conflict well and yet seems to indicate they can work in concert.

  3. Lovely poem hon, and thoses heart pictures are brilliant! 🙂

    Xx

feed the brain:

