Haiku – ya better not let him in

Same structure as before, three more Haiku poems also reading as a larger one. Inspiration, using a word prompt from a song same as on this post. This one takes a line from the Warren Zevon track “Werewolves of London” (from his album “Excitable boy”). Check out the live version of the song from a concert in 1982, below. The line I used is, ya better not let him in.

A crash! On the loose
frankenstein experiment
crazy monkey escape

coming to your town
creep in your bedroom window
eat your chocolate

sugar craving beast
ya better not let him in
eat afternoon treat

Lexicon word of the day: eupeptic.

12 comments on “Haiku – ya better not let him in

  1. Anne says:

    Grateful dead also sing this. Guess a lot of people cover this song.

  2. crubin says:

    I love that song, and I thought the Haiku was great. But I don’t like the thought of anyone’s chocolate being taken. Ever.

    Unless it’s given to me.

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Love the Zevon influence and nod. And yes. Step away from the chocolate and nobody gets hurt. 🙂

  4. Sometimes a song lyric will end up in my dialogue in my book. Love how you worked a haiku around this one. Great song too. 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Kourtney – I mentioned in one of the other comments that I quite like this little borrowing a line and turning it into something else. Quick and fun although not always as easy to pinch the line I would like due to the haiku syllable structure. I was going to attempt a Dolly Parton one (don’t ask) but most of her lines are 8 or 9 syllables.

  5. […] really adorable. In fact, I could make this a regular feature. For example, some bloggers like **–brain splats–**  have the Lexicon word of the day. But on my blog, in lieu of helpful education, I’ll showcase […]

feed the brain:

