10 Favourite films – The alternative take

In a typical Pub / bar type discussion I was asked that if I pretty much knew what my 10 favourite music albums of all time are, then what would my 10 favourite films be? I knew a few entries, but I had to get back home and have a think.

These days I am not as much into films as I used to be, I prefer a good drama on TV e.g. Sopranos, The Wire, Justified, Mad Men, Game of Thrones and shows along those lines. The main reason is simply that with more time on TV, you can develop characters and story more, and have more layers. It is more akin to a book on tv. In a film you have less time to establish characters, you have to tell a whole story and be able to move it along. Nothing wrong with that at all, I just like more detail right now.

On the other films may have a bigger budget and better cinematography. There are a lot of cool and interesting ideas out there. And I do own a lot on dvd. So I had a look through and this is what I came up with. The order is loosely best down, but not set in stone:

  • The Good, The Bad, The UglyMaybe my all time favourite. Looks fab, sounds fab with Ennio Morricone’s score, and has great characters.
  • The Big Lebowski – Although this is the other maybe. You just cannot beat the dude.
  • Back to the Future – About as fat free a script as you are going to get. Top fun too.
  • The man who would be king – Sean Connery and Michael Caine, ย I love this film.
  • The Wicker manย  – The 1973 original with Edward Woodward and Christopher Lee,ย not the crappy remake of recent years. A horror classic.
  • Goodfellas – A have of mine from when I was in College.
  • Blazing Saddles – I have seen this so many times and I still enjoy it and find it funny. Great way of having a go at racism, and illustrating how idiotic it is.
  • Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind – Script by Charlie Kaufman who wrote Being John Malkovich. It’s mad, it’s great.
  • Spartacus – Top classic swords and sandals action.
  • Pulp Fiction – My fave Quinton Tarentino film, and another have from college.

Ok, so it is a bit of a guys list, and me being a guy, it seems to fit together. This list is also interesting to me in what I had to leave out. I deliberately left out Star Wars films. “Empire strikes back” was a contender but I have seen these films so much in recent times that I cannot give them a fair hearing. Same with Indiana Jones films, my favourite is “The Last crusade” but they are on tv all the time. I was tempted to put in “The Terminator” but again, this is on a lot and it seems to cloud my judgement on it.

“Taxi driver” is another favourite Scorsese film, but I went with “Goodfellas”. “Being John Malkovich” also classic but I went with “Eternal Sunshine”. “Spinal Tap”, “Aliens”, “Shawshank Redemption” were also contenders but just missed out. “The Godfather” which Empire magazine had at the top of it’s best 500 movie ever list, I personally think is good, but a little boring. I prefer part two. “Day of the Beast” (El Dia de la bestia) is a spanish horror / black comedy that is brilliant, fairly difficult to get hold of compared to most films, almost made it in. Check this out if you have never seen it.

Recent films I also tend to exclude, until they have had time to settle down into history, with more of the hype forgotten. Therefore “The Dark Knight” gets excluded amongst a few others. I didn’t add any children’s films but “The Jungle Book” almost made it in, and I was unable to pick out an individual film from the “Toy Story” trilogy.

So that is it for my list. Anything you think I have missed that definitely should have been in there?

Lexicon word of the day: rapscallion.

21 comments on “10 Favourite films – The alternative take

  1. The period of the Russian Revolution is one of my favorite history settings and mixed with the epic scenery and costume – well mine are Dr. Zhivago and Nicholas and Alexandra. Laurence of Arabia too.

    • Elliot says:

      Have you ever read “The master and margarita”? I was told that makes a lot more sense if you are familiar with Russian history.

  2. crubin says:

    My brother and I grew up on Westerns. I loved “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.” One of my all time favorites. The other ones we really loved were “My Name is Nobody” with Terrence Hill and Henry Fonda and “They Call Me Trinity” with Terrence Hill. Did you ever see those “spaghetti” westerns? I tracked them down a few years ago and watched them with my kids. The kids weren’t as entranced, but it really took me back.

    • Elliot says:

      No not seen those too but I shall look out for them. I love “A fist full of dollars” and “a few dollars more”, well probably most Eastwood westerns actually. “Josey Wales” is another really good one. Never liked John Wayne. Eli Wallach who is “the ugly” appeared in one of the earlier episodes of “Nurse Jackie”.

      I always though Tim Olyphant in Deadwood (which was fab) and Justified was a little bit Eastwood.

      • crubin says:

        Oh, you should definitely check out “My Name is Nobody.” The Trinity movies have more comedy to them (thus, spaghetti westerns), but “My Name is Nobody” has some heft. Especially with Henry Fonda in it. In fact, now that it’s on my mind, I may just have to drag out that DVD…

      • Elliot says:

        It is on netflix streaming so I just added it to my queue. – Oh your son’s language will be putting in an appearance on monday’s bonus haiku ๐Ÿ™‚

      • crubin says:

        Looking forward to it!

  3. Anne says:

    Airplane, goonies, up, and its a wonderful life are just a few of the good movies out there.

  4. Dan says:

    I may follow your lead and do a post like this. Like you, I don’t see nearly the number of movies that I used to. Even with Netflix, my wife and I are more likely to watch TV shows that movies these days. I think for us, it’s because TV is able to be taken in in digestible chunks of 22 or 44 minutes vs. a 2+ hour film. I also agree with you comment on having more time to develop characters and plot.

    My list would be very eclectic indeed!

    • Elliot says:

      I did this post a few days ago, and since then I’ve thought of a few others for example I cannot believe I forgot about “One flew over the Cuckoos nest” which would definitely be in the top ten. I’m not sure at the expense of what yet.

      A few years ago I could have probably reeled off ten films from the top of my head.

  5. I definitely have the Eastwood westerns on my list, but I agree with Carrie (crubin) who pointed out My Name is Nobody – it’s really good. My all time fav movies though are the Hitchcock classics such as Rear Window, Rope, To Catch a Thief (countless others). I really like To Kill a Mockingbird, too. I could go on but there will be way more than 10… ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I LOVE the original Wicker Man! Good choice ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Xx

feed the brain:

