When is blog writing too much?

Some numbers from a few days ago.

If you take a gander at the “what the blog is about” section of this blog website, or you happen to be a regular reader, you will be well aware of the purpose of this blog. To cut a long boring story short, it was to get me back into writing, and the writing mentality, by doing some writing daily. I had some rough ideas for the blog, it has evolved and forgive me for using the tautology, but it is what it is now.

Now the grander idea of this scheme was to take the writing mentality and apply it into wider projects. Many blog writers within the blog community do this. I read many a blog where the writer reports on their various projects, monthly exercises and so on. From a writing perspective it is all pretty cool. My problem was, prior to starting the blog I had plenty of ideas for projects, but not the mentality, and perhaps writing confidence, to get on with them. To put it bluntly, I needed the itch.

So a few months in, it is time for a review. I’m over the 100 post mark now. Thus far I have easily managed my aim of putting up a post everyday i.e. writing everyday. Sometimes a post or two is prepared in advance, but I will still do some writing of some kind everyday. Some posts e.g. the TV vegetable ones, can take an hour or two to write. The reality of it is I write for more than the minimum 15 minutes a day and I enjoy it. My mind is on getting the posts up, whether good or bad, and trying to maintain a reasonable standard. I enjoy it, I look forward to it. It can be easy and occasionally challenging (actually not challenging enough). It has far surpassed what I thought the daily writing exercise might be for me, and what I would get from it. I found the itch.

Now I need to transfer this to some of my other projects. More specifically, I need to transfer some of the time. So in a sense too much blog writing may not be a good thing. I don’t wish to give up the blog, as I enjoy doing it and enjoy the community aspect of it. But I wish to use some of the time on writing a novel. I am therefore going to cut down from daily posts. My current idea is to post maybe four times a week. I will keep Mondays for “Haiku and what I learned this weekend” as I enjoy writing those. Wednesdays will be for the occasional “TV Vegetable” (which is beginning to bore me a bit anyway), or something for “The Alternative take“. Fridays and Saturdays will be for something else, Poems, stories, musings, or whatever it might be. Or I might switch them round a bit. I may post more than four times a week on some weeks, depending on the illogical sounding, “what appears in my head”.

I intend to start this almost immediately. It is nice timing for me as I need to make a flying visit to the UK and won’t have much time for a week or so. I don’t know if it will entirely work, but it is not set in stone. It’s just the next stage in my current writing journey. I suppose this could also aid my readers in that there will be less to read and therefore a bit less commitment. There will not be a TV vegetable this week, my next post will likely be on thursday.

So that is when blog writing is too much. When time is needed to be spent elsewhere. Does this sound sensible?

Lexicon word of the day: Littoral.

28 comments on “When is blog writing too much?

  1. A post a day is production that even Henry Ford would admire. But it can be grueling and if it’s a task instead of fun, well it loses the fun. 2 or 3 posts a week is very active and I need to slow down to that level myself. I have added guest post Wednesdays and that fills 52 days of the year.

  2. crubin says:

    As a twice weekly blogger, it sounds more than sensible to me. I think you’ll enjoy having more time to pursue other writing projects. I’ve had my blog since December, and I’ve just posted my 60th entry. Suits me fine and probably others who follow lots of blogs.

    Always enjoy reading your material no matter how many times you post. πŸ™‚ Have fun on your trip.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Carrie – Three or four will probably be the number but it isn’t like I cannot change it, or put something extra in if I feel like it. I think because I started it as a daily commitment to get me back into writing that it seems like I’m giving up. However so long as I continue to work on something, then I should be fine.

  3. Smaktakula says:

    It makes perfect sense to me. Writing in your blog should enrich your life, not rule it. It sounds like you have your priorities aligned.
    Have fun in the UK! Since you’re from there, it seems ridiculous for me to even say this (but such is the nature of my madness), but watch out, because those people drive on the wrong side of the road.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks – You are right, it is about getting the priorities aligned.

      The first time I ever drove in the US, I spent the first hour or so constantly watching the wing mirror because my brain was naturally shift the car across the road i.e. putting me in the place where I would be relative to sitting in the right hand side of the car. After a while my brain began to get with the program. When I last went back to the UK last October, I didn’t have the same problem going back again, even having been away for a year and a half.

  4. La La says:

    More than sensible indeed!

  5. GJ Scobie says:

    Interesting post and it is good to see you thinking about your writing. I have been carrying out a similar exercise over recent months and attempting to find the time for a number of writing projects. I feel the blog is part of what you do and can be a big help in keeping you focussed but you cannot let it take over and affect your other writing. You mention working on a novel. You may have seen I produced a draft in four weeks during April after having worked out the synopsis first. This meant limiting my blog posts to a couple a week but that worked out fine. So I feel what you are proposing is entirely sensible. You recognise there is an issue here for you, and you are addressing it. It is now down to you to put this into practice. You can do this. Good luck.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks – I need to cut the blogging down (as fun as it is) or I will never get a draft done. But as I discussed in the post, the blog has done it’s main job which was to get me writing again, and being creative again. Just the other day I had another idea for a story that would work as a novel. I had to spend some time yesterday jotting down some notes and ideas, so even if I don’t go back to it for a while, I have the idea down.

  6. Dan says:

    I can understand the need to cut back on blogging – daily posting is difficult unless you have a lot of scheduled posts. Every November, I post daily and there are days I post something just to say I posted something. Anyway, I’m glad that the blog has relit the spark to write.

    What I love about blogs is how varied they are. There are some out there that don’t interest me in the slightest and others that I can’t wait for their next post. Most of them are probably somewhere in the middle. Where mine falls in that, I’m not sure! See, you can write over 1500 posts and still not know what you’re doing. πŸ˜‰

    • Elliot says:

      That is one of the good things about blogs, there really is blogs about everything and anything, and crossing the whole quality range. I kind of figure if you get some people reading it, then you are on the right lines.

      I have scheduled a lot of posts lately but I figured it is still time to move more time onto other projects.

  7. Margarita says:

    The point is for you to write daily, not to blog daily. So write daily, and catch us up on what you’re up to when you can! Happy & safe trip!

    • Elliot says:

      That’s pretty much the whole thing right there. I think as I’ve been good on the commitment front, I’m a little bit going to miss that. But it is a necessary change.

      • Margarita says:

        Well, from where I stand (or sit), the commitment has to be first to yourself: to write. You are doing that. It’s just how that commitment is applied that’s shifted a little – and it will shift again, and again. Ain’t life grand?!:)

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    Oh, Margarita just summed it up so well!

    I went from 3 to 2 posts per week because I needed more of that time to work on my novels. I encourage commenting on my blog, and I try to respond to every comment. I also enjoy commenting on other blogs, but that is where the time really goes for me.

    The best advice I think is to go with what works for you. And if that means some shifting from time to time, I don’t think anyone will mind.

    • Elliot says:

      Yes between you, you have the whole thing. Blogging takes up a lot of time and the priorities should be elsewhere. I can easily change it if I want to.

  9. Eric Alagan says:

    I started off with 7 posts a week and now down to 5. My priority is my passion – writing novels. Blogging comes second. In a few weeks, I shall be down to 4 posts a week as I take on new (novel) projects.

    We need to cut the cloth that fits us and the season, I reckon.

  10. It sounds very sensible honey….I’m thinking along the same lines myself πŸ™‚

    On the 1st of July I will be hitting my 6 month mark, and things WILL be changing πŸ˜‰

    Good luck….hope you really do use those extra hours you claw back πŸ™‚

    Xx

    • Elliot says:

      Yes, it is a good idea to have a commitment for posting x amount and for so long, but ultimately, if you want to be doing other things, like writing a novel, then you need to have time to do that. Blogging is fun, but I’m finding a daily commitment is too much, and the wrong priority.

  11. Twice a week is the most I can manage to post, and it is impacting the time I have to work on my novel. Best of luck on your writing.

  12. Anne says:

    congrats on your 100th post. xo

  13. robincoyle says:

    I hear you! Blogging has taken me too much away from my novel. I unplugged the internet and focused on it over the weekend, and now I am paying the price with catch-up on reading blog posts. Let me know how you balance that new challenge. I need the help.

    • Elliot says:

      I think I shall only be catching up on blog posts every couple of days, but we shall how that works out. The number of posts will definitely be reduced.

feed the brain:

