Back home, and when blog writing is too much, part 2.

 

 

I made it home on Monday afternoon, a little bit tired, a little bit sorry to leave the UK and my family there, but happy to return and see my wife and son. The flight was decent, not once did the seatbelt sign go on other than take off and landing. No-one was sat next to me so I had more space to spread out. I got through passport control quickly, and I didn’t have to wait long for my suitcase. In fact the only slight hassle was at the bag drop desk in the UK. They usually ask to see your visa or green card if travelling to the US on a visa. My card had expired going by the printed date, however I did have the letter that extended it for a year, and a letter that confirmed I had actually been accepted on the full visa with no end date. What I didn’t have was the new card confirming it. This turned up in our mailbox when my wife arrived home, having just dropped me at the airport for my flight to the UK. Thankfully after someone double checked the letters, I was free to fly.

The last few days in the UK were about my brothers wedding. I’ve had next to no blog time other than a spare 25 minutes to write the monday haiku post. I’ve had no time to catch up on blogs I like to follow other than a little time earlier today, although not much time to contribute many comments. Right now, writing this on tuesday evening, the jet lag is beginning to catch up, although I shall be staying up and going to bed at he usual time. I apologise now if this post seems to be going in several directions.

At the end of May, I stopped writing blog posts for every day, to get some time back, and concentrate it on some other projects. So how is this going so far?

Well the simple answer is that it actually is giving me a little more time to focus on some other projects, to the extent that I’m now considering dropping from four to three posts a week. It was a bit odd the first few days not having a new post there every day. The blog writing breeds certain habits such as checking stats, answering comments and so on, which don’t need doing as often when there is not a new post every day. But I soon got with that.

The other side of the blog coin is blog reading. Most blog writers who like to be on the blog scene, the blog community, or whatever you want to call it, or describe it, will read other blogs, contribute some likes, or comments where required. I’m sure other bloggers will agree, on some days, this can be time consuming. The solution to this, thus far, is to try to catch up on blogs every other day. This might mean missing a few things that might otherwise have been read, although not always because there are various ways that you can keep yourself updated. It does mean you have to organise how you read blogs that little more. On the days you do not read, or maybe read, but just a little, time is again saved for other projects. This even worked in the UK where I had a few days with more time to use, and some with no time at all.

So far I have been fleshing out a slightly “fantasy” story which is a fair bit different than what I normally do but seems to be taking on a life of it’s own (which to me is a good sign), and also jotting down ideas for a much darker story (this one non fantasy) which popped into my head whilst working on ideas for the other one. I’m intending to start writing a first draft of the former soon, once I have fleshed out a few more details and characters. This story will have a strong spine, but leave some details open as to how exactly some things will happen. Some of my other story ideas are on the back shelf for now.

So, brief conclusion, less posts, and not reading everyday seems to be adding to my productivity elsewhere on other projects, you know, the projects which should be the priority. I’m still writing everyday, because the blog gave me the motivation back, the mental approach, the writing itch. I’m still sticking with it (the blog) and contributing some posts because it is fun, different, and a departure from the other projects. A change for a short while is often good. I’ve a bit of catching up to do after the time in the UK, but I won’t be behind for long. I shall provide further updates in time.

Lexicon word of the day: Chela (check out both meanings).

16 comments on “Back home, and when blog writing is too much, part 2.

  1. You are right . Play your music and don’t let it play you.

  2. crubin says:

    Always hard to find the balance between blogging and other creative ventures. Plus, it’s summer! Seems many bloggers are taking it easier this time of year, which only makes sense.

    Bet your son greeted you with a ginormous hug when you got home. 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      I think the blogging thing can be too addictive, and if you have something else on the go, sooner or later you have to prioritise. But as I mentioned, the blog can still be fun and useful.

      My wife brought my son with her to the airport. He did a comedy double take when I first walked up to him. Did you enjoy your trip?

  3. Jeannie says:

    Glad you’re home 🙂 I too don’t have the time to spend reading blogs every day. I don’t even post as often as you do either. We can only do what we can do. The more I’m on here, the less time I have for other things–such as real writing! More and more the best I can do is “Like” and move on. I try to avoid looking at stats!

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Jeannie – I’m not overly into the stats these days but they were more important when I started the blog and I wanted to see how well it was doing. Keeping up with other blogs is very time consuming, but as I mentioned, I’m trying to reduce doing it as often.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    I totally understand the desire to work on other projects and thus reduce the number of blog posts. It’s hard at first to watch the stats go down, but once they balance out, you get used to the new numbers.

    Any writer who’s looking to publish should focus more on that work than the blog (IMHO)!

    • Elliot says:

      I think I am getting with the stats already. I think 3 or 4 posts a week will work for me, depending on what I’m doing and have to say, but I shall see how it goes.

  5. Eric Alagan says:

    I agree – like everything else that we might enjoy > blogging is addictive.

  6. There just aren’t enough hours in the day are there? 😦

    I’m beginning to find it so hard to keep up with the blogs I follow, so I totally understand where you’re coming from.

    Xx

  7. Ann Marquez says:

    Glad to hear you had a relatively smooth trip! Good luck with the projects! And good post by the way. 🙂 I’m trying to do one hour of commenting and liking per week. I hate to be rude and I miss reading my little group of bloggers. 😦 But here I go … leaving longer and longer comments. I can’t help myself. It’s like back in the day with ‘no talking in class’ … always in trouble. 😀 Anyhow, when this hour is up, that’s it for me till next week … (I think 😉 )

    • Elliot says:

      Well thanks for dropping by and saying hello to me within the hour. Glad to see you liked some of the posts. Hope all is going well with your non blog projects.

  8. DyingNote says:

    Totally with you on the bit of the frequency of blog writing. Which is why I stick to my weekly post (more or less) and am never particular about the day of week that I post.

    But I only hope (a couple of your posts got me a little – umm – worried) that you keep at the blog reasonably regularly. I’m being selfish but it’ll be a pity to not get one of my reading fixes.

    • Elliot says:

      I intend to keep up with the blog as I enjoy doing it, but it will likely be down to 3 or 4 posts a week depending on what I’m doing and what ideas crop up along the way.

feed the brain:

