Father Ted – The alternative take

What do you need to know about it?

Father Ted was an Irish sitcom produced by a British broadcaster. It followed the “Craggy Island” house of three Roman Catholic priests led by Father Ted, and housekeeper Mrs Doyle. All the priests had been sent there as a punishment for various incidents in their past. Most Brits will have heard of the show. It is critically acclaimed and can rightfully stake a claim as one of the best comedies of all time.

It is difficult to not like Father Ted. It rips on the Catholic church but not in a way that is too offensive, unless you lack a sense of humour, but then, you’re not forced to watch it are you? Father Ted Crilly is burdened not only by the idiots around him, but by his own idiotic schemes, and the way he reinterprets the teachings of the church to serve his own ends. Father Dougal has a childlike perception of life and understands none of it. Father Jack Hackett is a drunk who sits in the corner either drinking, or sleeping, or shouting obscenities. Mrs Doyle is the insane and hyperactive housekeeper, slightly obsessed with “a cup of tea”. The adventures, or misadventures are a little surreal. The show was fabulous. Sadly Father Ted himself “Dermot Morgan” died of a heart attack, shortly before the third series aired.

Where did I first become acquainted?

I think right from the start in 1995. I watched it all as it aired. I’ve watched it many times since. I still find clips funny. Check out this clip here after Ted is accused of being a racist:

What to buy:

All the episodes ever produced can be bought on a dvd set. In the US, it is available on netflix streaming as well.

Anything related to look at:

Check out this fan site “Father Ted Online“. Check out Craggy.net. Or check out youtube, there are plenty of clips. For example this one, where Ted leads out a posse of priests who have become accidentally “lost and trapped” in the lingerie section of a department store:

Anything else?

It was written by Graham Linehan (who also wrote “Black Books”, and “The IT crowd”) and Arthur Mathews (who also worked on “Black Books” and “Hippies” starring Simon Pegg).

It really is one of the best comedies ever, so try check it out if you can. Watch Father Ted deal with a blasphemous film:

Lexicon word of the day: chaffer.

8 comments on “Father Ted – The alternative take

  1. crubin says:

    Sounds like a show I’d really like. I’m going to see if I can put it on hold at my library. As I mentioned before, I love British humor, though I could do without the boobie-jiggling of Bennie Hill 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      I imagine it is a show you would like.

      I’m going to slightly defend Benny Hill though. I realise his comedy is a bit sexist these days, and the style a bit dated. However the guy had pretty much the most popular comedy show on British TV for years, and he wrote pretty much all of it himself. That is an incredible achievement. I always felt he got the raw end of the stick towards the end because he became offensive because tastes changed. After all he wrote what people wanted to watch for years. I understand now how he is not to a lot of tastes (especially female) and there are definitely funnier things about now, but I still admire what he achieved.

      • crubin says:

        That’s true. And I’d be lying if I said I didn’t used to watch it and have some good laughs. So, I’ll give you that one. 🙂

      • Elliot says:

        When I was growing up I used to love waiting for the chase at the end of the show. First for the funny stuff and then as I got older, for the “other stuff”. Teenage boys huh?

      • crubin says:

        Yes, I’m sure my boys would enjoy it to no end. Some things are timeless. Like women’s bosoms…

  2. robincoyle says:

    Like Carrie, I love British humor. Love it. Unfortunately, I can’t watch your clips because they say “Embedding disabled by request.” I’m Netflixing it! Thanks for the recommendation.

    • Elliot says:

      I didn’t realise it wasn’t allowing embedded clips. You can see some of the clips by letting it take you straight to youtube on the link. However if you are going to netflix it, then it doesn’t matter. If you get the sense of humour of it, and find it funny, you are going to love it.

  3. Ann Marquez says:

    Happy Father’s Day, Elliot! 😀

feed the brain:

