100 word fiction – What age does to you

What do you see in the mirror?
(Click on the picture to check out some cool art works like this one)

Another 100 word fiction exercise for today, not at all related to the posting date. If you missed an earlier post on 100 word fiction, the three rules are as follows:

  • It must be 100 words or less.
  • The prompt will be mentioned after the story.
  • It must be written in under 30 mins and then it goes up onto a post as is, with no additional editing allowed, no pondering on it for a day or more.

What age does to you

He approached the large mirror, behind the sink, sweaty and a little weary. Scrutinising his naked self, as he often did, he was a little taken a back at what he saw. Christ! I have some long ass balls. When did that happen? I look like the pendulum on a Grandfather clock.

He looked up to his face, weather worn, and flexed an arm. Well still got that, sort of. Yet it wasn’t as it once was.

It went no further as a man in his gym clothes approached his side.

“Good work out, huh?”

He laughed and nodded.

Prompt: Strange naked people who don’t seem to care about privacy at the gym. What’s going on with that?

Lexicon word of the day: Spheroid.

23 comments on “100 word fiction – What age does to you

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    “…the pendulum on a Grandfather clock.”–oh, that’s a good one! As humorous as your entry is, it also says a lot, which with a hundred words or less is not an easy thing to do. Nice one.

    • Elliot says:

      I had a much more vulgar one which might have been funnier, but in thinking about it, it didn’t seem to suit. Although thinking about this now, I’m not sure why the other guy said hello. My rule in the gym changing room is “don’t engage the naked guy by the mirror”, when there is one, which there unfortunately is from time to time.

      On a side note, I’m quite enjoying these 100 word fiction things as a quick mental exercise.

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        My husband used to take the kids to the gym when he worked out so they could play raquetball. They refused to shower at the gym. Said the “old naked guys” in the locker room creeped them out. I don’t blame them.

      • Elliot says:

        I’m the same. I don’t live too far from the gym so I return home to shower. A creepy naked guy standing at the sink / mirror, having a shave is more than I can manage.

  2. Dan says:

    Oh God, I call weird on the guys that just walk around naked in the locker room. Even weirder are the ones that carry on conversations standing there buck naked like it’s no big deal. I can’t even look people in the eye in the locker room, let alone talk to people.

  3. Women walk around naked in the locker room too. Some stand around talking, some dry their hair that way, some just strut around. And not the ones with the great boes, either.

    • Elliot says:

      My wife used to report the same thing. She particularly liked the naked woman who used to bend over using the hand dryer to dry her hair.

  4. Ha! Loved this. For one thing, I always think men take a quick once-over in the mirror and tell themselves they look amazing no matter what. I kind of like knowing they look at their hanging nether region with disappointment just as women do their less-than-perky parts, too! lol

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Sounds like I’m not missing anything by working out at home and not the gym. 🙂

    But I think you did well with the 100-word fiction. The imagery is strong and clear.

    • Elliot says:

      But you miss out on the reminder that showering at home is better advised 🙂

      Thanks, I know I’ve said it before but these 100 word exercises are a good, and not time consuming exercise. Well for me thus far, anyway.

  6. I’ve been on both sides of the mirror.

  7. I LOVE that cartoon 🙂

    Good piece honey xx

  8. La La says:

    In all seriousness, the old naked ladies that talk to me while naked in the women’s bathroom at the gym frightened me to the point of no longer going in there. One came up to me and said he liked my ring and her boobs were all up in my personal bubble. Terrible!

feed the brain:

