Poem – Nothing left to say

At the moment I’m attempting some work on a novel. It is easier some days than others. I’ve not written a lot of it yet, but I have the story, and key characters. The story opened up surprisingly fast. Actually I have a couple of other stories I had to jot down notes for, so ideas are flowing at the moment. On the current one, I’m working on a few POV details because there may be several. I’m planning the first few chapters in a bit more detail to ensure that everything that should be covered early on (establishing character, the novel’s world, what is normal, what it is about, etc), is covered. I’m therefore cutting down my blog time for a few weeks. Well sort of. I’m still aiming for three posts a week, but I might only get to catch up on your blogs every few days, likely on the posting days.

So with that in mind, no 100 word fiction today. Instead a little poem. In my opinion, it’s not a great one, but it is not awful either. It has been sitting around for a few weeks waiting for it’s opportunity, or some revision / additions depending on your perspective. It is about a problem many bloggers face from time to time, or at least feel like it any way.

Nothing left to say

To have and to hold
the dense fog of the head
a numbing, not knowing
the feeling of dread

To see and not feel
but to know it is there
destination to get to
little idea of where

To find no words
no sentence in the way
to sit and wonder if
there is nothing left to say

Lexicon word of the day: incandescent.

18 comments on “Poem – Nothing left to say

  1. I like your poem. It’s how I feel a lot of the time, can’t find a topic, and when I do, can’t find the words.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Lynn. I sometimes have those mornings where the brain doesn’t seem to start. I just have to do something else until the fog clears.

  2. Sometimes you’ve got to let the blogosphere go a while to get down to business. And on your poem, been there too many times to count πŸ™‚

  3. Ann Marquez says:

    I can totally relate! πŸ˜‰
    Continued luck with the novel. πŸ˜€

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Ah, yes, your poem is relevant to us all. Good luck with your writing. I thought about you today when I wrote my post for tomorrow. It’s entirely devoted to offal. Which gets us right back to your poem about bloggers having nothing left to say, doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰

    • Elliot says:

      That reply went full circle pretty quickly. I shall look forward to tomorrows post. But yes, it is a common thing to all of us from time to time. I tend to get it in bursts where I have a few ideas, do a few poems or whatever, then work my way through them. I then have another getting thin period, then suddenly another burst.

  5. Great poem, I know that feeling exactly. Good luck with your writing!

  6. Uncertainty and resultant anxiety have plagued me my whole life. But with some things I believed in myself and went full steam ahead. Won or lost, am better for it.

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    Those days when the ideas and words don’t come are tough. Then I’ll have some where I can barely keep up as they rush from my brain. A little more balance would be nice. Having read Carrie’s comment, I think you may be in for a rush of ideas after her post tomorrow. πŸ™‚

    • Elliot says:

      Those days when they don’t come fast, it is best to read something else, or go do something else first. That often gets me going.

      I will look forward to Carrie’s post. Or my Monday Haiku will πŸ™‚

  8. Terrific poem. πŸ™‚ It reminds me too of those moments of awkward silence sitting with someone when you wrack your brain for a conversation starter. I think it’s good to focus on your writing, especially in the summer. Good luck with the story!

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Kourtney. I had not thought of it like that but I see what you mean (the poem).

      Yes now seems like a good time to get started on some serious writing.

  9. It’s cool how people can read the same words and see something different. πŸ™‚ It’s even cooler to have written those words and inspired those thoughts!

feed the brain:

