Poem – Unemployment, number (4)

the view is not a mirror image

With a poem I posted last week called “Familiarity“, I discussed how that and several others had appeared in an hour session one afternoon. This is the second one. I didn’t mention before, but I am going to post them in the order that I wrote them. I pinched the title from Mark Levine’s work in the current issue of “Poetry“, but I already had the subject matter.

Unemployment – number (4)

I’ve been here before
like a bad dream
but a daily reality
I spend a lot of time in the house
building a lot of nothing
in the void between my ears
I suppose I could write a book
but the vacuum of my imagination
draws in but not out
at least when I’m surfing the net
all those ones and zeros
not making their way to my wallet
I suppose I should apply for a job
get used to rejection
then I suppose I could write a book
and get used to rejection
or try again tomorrow

Lexicon word of the day: presage.

5 comments on “Poem – Unemployment, number (4)

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    This is a wonderful poem. I think the words really capture the lassitude and apathy that the state of being unemployed can invoke.

  2. I really enjoyed this poem. I agree with Carrie about you capturing the lassitude and apathy. But also the indifference and hopelessness. The expectation of rejection with either route leading to inaction. Well done! 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Kourtney, this one actually came out the way I hoped.

      The inaction is something I get into when I have too much time off and no set deadlines, but I think it matches well with both scenarios.

feed the brain:

