Poem – Unemployment, number (11)

(Source: Microsoft Clip art)

Soon I shall be posting something relating to the weekend post “The blog post trail game aka the other map of blog“. In the meantime, with a poem I posted last week called “Unemployment, number (4)“, I discussed how that and several others had appeared in an hour session one afternoon. This is the third one. It is a quick read.

Unemployment – number (11)

I am not a man
I am a piece of meat
you do not know me
I give a snapshot to you
that isn’t what I mean
I am tied to the slide
to match your needs
I am not a man
I am just a lump
sat in a chair
whilst you poke with your intuition
hook a morsel of my mind
that may feed your notepad fish
I don’t know what you mean
I saw that stifled yawn

I am not a man
I am just your 4 pm

Lexicon word of the day: tithing.

12 comments on “Poem – Unemployment, number (11)

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Another good one. The frustration is palpable.

  2. “that may feed your notepad fish” is such a great line 🙂

  3. Well said. It captures the frustration of being in an employer’s market. It stinks to be a cog for the machine. 🙂

  4. Smaktakula says:

    This is really affecting, and I think you did an excellent job of capturing that icky feeling of looking for a job when you need one. It’s such a world of difference from looking for a job when you already have one.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks – I don’t think the process is enjoyable either way, but yes, it is easier when you already have one so there is less to lose it you don’t get it.

  5. Sheila Lewis says:

    I like this, captures the whole experience in few words, quicker than the recent depressing articles about the job market. Left me wishing for a solution for me and for the people described. Thanks, Sheila

feed the brain:

