The blog map game – The Update, and the info required

(Source: Microsoft Clip art)

A few weeks back I wrote a post on something called the “the blog post trail game” or a thing along those lines, for it had not yet been given an official name. I have as yet, still to set this up, for a variety of reasons, but I am planning to go ahead with it. I will host the “home page” which will be a dedicated section or pages, of my blog relating to this game. If someone wishes to participate, but doesn’t know anyone from the blogs who have participated thus far, or simply want to participate but have not been chosen, or wants to be there so someone can choose them, then they can comment and be added to a list of willing participants stored there. The list of posts thus far, or the trail if you like, will also be stored there. As will a reserve list of prompts / ideas. So with that in mind, here is what I consider to be the rules:

  • The blog writer will have 13 days to post in, based on the prompt or idea given to them. They can do it at any point within that period. I don’t know why 13 days, but I liked the number.
  • The blog writer must be willing to pass it on to another blogger either chosen themselves, or chosen from the “reserve” list on the home page. It can be passed to one blogger only. The blogger receiving it must be willing to receive it, otherwise someone who is willing must be chosen.
  • The blogger passing it on must also pass on a prompt or an idea that the new blogger needs to write about. It can be anything they want. For example it might be “The Snake”. Another example is, “Ten ways the seventies were better than the eighties”. Whatever they want really.
  • The blogger who receives this prompt or idea can deal with it in any way they want. They can write about the subject, write some fiction, a poem, put up a recipe that is related in some way, a song list / mix tape, an essay. Really anything they want to so long as it relates in some way.
  • The blog writer must link back to the previous poster in their post.
  • The blog writer must link to the next blogger (when known). That the trail is maintained not just on the “home” page.
  • Somewhere in the post, the blog writer must post a link to the “home” trail page, so I can track the trail, and others can use the “Home page” to follow it.
  • No re-blogs. Other posts or links can be referenced, but the majority of the post must be original.

So it is a game where the blogger is committed to writing a post from a prompt or idea, and coming up with a new prompt or idea which they pass on to someone else. It ought to be simple. It ought to give a taster of many different bloggers and styles.

Still to do:

  • Come up with an “official” name, although I think it will be “the alternative map of blog”
  • Come up with a badge or icon type thing that can be displayed on the side of the blog, stating “I’m a participant in the alternative map of blog”, or whatever I eventually call it. Or stating something else along those lines.

A few bloggers said they would like to participate from the earlier post. If anyone else wants to be in the list (or wants to make sure they are on the list), please let me know below. I think to begin with I will have my wife pick at random from the list, and that will be the first person it will be passed to. Everyone else gets to go on the reserve list. What I also need are some potential ideas or prompts for me to start the thing off. I would kindly ask that you post any ideas below and again, my wife can choose the idea at random from those submitted. Of course if you have any other questions or ideas, feel free to mention those.

Lexicon word of the day: Quadruped.

15 comments on “The blog map game – The Update, and the info required

  1. paulaacton says:

    I actually think you should make the first post then add the prompt for the next person in the last sentence so that all the posts sort of link in some way almost like blog degrees of seperation so that by the time it links back eventually to you again it will be fun to see wher it has led and developed

    • Elliot says:

      I shall give that some thought. I’m open to the blogger coming up with the prompt for the next post but on anything they wish, which could be related or not. I’m interested in what people come up with and how other people deal with it.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Go ahead and put me on the participating list. Sounds like fun. The only thing I’ve noticed is that linking back to a static page doesn’t provide a pingback. So, for example, if I wrote a post received from someone other than you and passed it onto someone other than you, I’d still link to your static page about the map blog, but you wouldn’t know I’d posted because you wouldn’t get a pingback. The only way you’d know is by stopping by my site and reading the post. Or maybe I’m wrong; do static pages carry a pingback option?

    As for possible ideas just off the top of my head:

    Best movie of all time
    The smell of autumn
    A dark closet

    Great idea! Glad someone else is doing all the work. 😉

    • Elliot says:

      You could well be right, maybe the new poster could post a comment on the static page and I pick it up from there (then delete the comment once i’ve added it as a link). Also in that way it caters for blogs not on WordPress.

      I shall add you to the list, and throw (gently toss) your ideas in the pile. Thanks as always for contributing.

  3. Margarita says:

    I’m not much of a game player…I’ll just watch, for now!

  4. I’m a huge fan of photo prompts, you could do that, and all blog posts look pretty with a picture 😉

    Xx

  5. Okay, why not, I’m game. But don’t make it too complicated. Let me write and pass it on, but if I have to do a lot of computer stuff, well, that would not be good. Also, I’m in because Carrie is in and I want to go head to head with her! HF

    • Elliot says:

      It sounds more complicated than it is. I just don’t want it to be passed on to 15 people at once, then it fizzle out. I would rather see it move on 1 person at a time. Many people are put off when they have to find “X” amount of people to pass it on to. If necessary I could set off a second (or more) trail.

      I shall add you to the list. Do you have any suggestions / ideas for a potential first post for me to kick it off?

  6. Sounds interesting. Looking forward to reading it as it develops. 🙂

feed the brain:

