Poem – Nights and Demons

(Source: Microsoft Clip art)

The new paying gig is leaving me a bit stretched for time this week, and likely for the next few weeks. I’m also limited in internet connectivity during the day, well weekdays anyway, though this may change in a few weeks time. In the meantime, this is something I did last weekend. This is a poem where I took a prompt, and wanted to see what I could come up with in just 15 minutes. The prompt came from an episode of “Spiderman and friends” (probably best not to ask) called “Knights and Demons” which I misunderstood to be “Nights and Demons”. The latter was good enough, so I used that. Honestly, this is 15 mins of work, which you might be able to tell (which is where “lol” would be appropriate), but I was interested to see what came out. So here it is:

Nights and Demons

What did they say about night?
other than it was black and cold
that it was best to sleep then
and to avoid alleyways

That is what they say
but they do not know
that black is when no light reflects
when the mind wanders
and the demons come out

They say you jump at your own shadow
but I don’t know how, when there isn’t one there
when you cannot see much in front of your face
but you let your mind inhabit that space

Night is when I feel uneasy
when I cannot sleep, but my sensibility does
I realise my problems are much larger
and I left a door unlocked, I think

They say night is just quiet
but no-one told that dog
he says the monster is round the corner
like when the mind wanders
and the demons come out

The tone of this appears to be ever so slightly influenced by Kurt Vonnegut’s book “Slaughterhouse five or The Children’s Crusade”, which I have recently read (a recommended classic if you have never read it). Honest opinion, not bad for 15 minutes work, and a good writing exercise.

As a side note, I know of a few people who read my blog from time to time who claim they could never do this or the 100 word fiction. I would say in reply to that, that I had much the same opinion just nine months ago. But I also say to have a go on your own time, even if you keep it to yourself. It is a good, short exercise, and you might surprise yourself.

Lexicon word of the day: approbation.

22 comments on “Poem – Nights and Demons

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Fifteen minutes? Impressive. The night always makes for good tales. 🙂

  2. I liked it and the fact that you wrote it in only 15 minutes is pretty awesome

  3. Very cohesive and imagery rich for such a short thinking time but it is stylish and such I would have thought a much longer period was needed for composition. I think I’m not getting your notifications so resubscribe.

  4. Margarita says:

    I’m gearing up to try one, Elliot. Your examples are practical and inspiring. I’m a slow mover! lol

  5. I envy your skill, I enjoyed that, and I will check that Vonnegut book!

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    I think it’s excellent, and the fact that you wrote it in 15 minutes is all the more impressive. I wonder what you would have written if you’d used the “Knights and Demons” for a prompt….

  7. Eerie poem. I like it. It’s amazing what you can do under time pressure. 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks. Yes the time pressure is interesting. I don’t feel pressured, but I like the focus a time limit or restriction of some kind, brings with it.

  8. legionwriter says:

    Ooh, scarily delicious.

  9. Excellent post! You wrote this in 15min.? I stopped to ponder all the possibilities of “avoid alleyways” and “I left a door unlocked, I think” and didn’t even finish reading in 15min.
    Well done!

    • Elliot says:

      I wanted to capture the sometime night time paranoia. I think it came out quite well, especially in the time limit I imposed on myself. – Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for your comments.

feed the brain:

