The Monday Mess – My wife the nice character killer – 22 Oct 2012

YupMonday again and what better time than now to discuss a problem. Why monday instead of um, Friday? Because I can, and this is the Monday mess. And this is a mess. A mess of unusual proportions.

See I love my wife, as you might hope and expect, but pssst, quiet now, she has a little problem. See it all started a few months ago…

You better watch out.
(Image Source: Microsoft Clip art)

One sunday evening we settled down to a sunday drama show, in this instance the brilliant “Breaking Bad”. There was a particular character that she was very fond of. I don’t want to name the character, for possible spoiler reasons for anyone who hasn’t seen the latest season yet (see I’m good that way). But let us just say now, that said character did not make it to the end of the season. Was my wife impressed, no. Does a character you like end up being killed off? From time to time yes (for me, Michael Pitt’s character in last seasons “Boardwalk Empire”, which annoys me so much I break my spoiler rule), so no big deal. Most of the time.

Fast forward to um, perhaps a week or so later (but it might have been the next day), and watching “Hell on wheels”. There is another character my wife is growing fond of. The show is set in the “Old West”, surely not much can happen there right? So what happens? The character takes gets captured for crimes committed and has to take a bullet as punishment. And that is the end of that. Hmm, that seems a bit of a coincidence. Oh well never mind.  There is another character in the same show she can like instead. A loveable Irish chap (well he was a racist thug in the first season, but season 2 seems to have conveniently forgotten that, so now he is likeable). And what happens to him? No sooner than my wife starts liking him, then he kills himself. That’s right, he did it to himself. I don’t think he knew my wife liked him, I think in the show it was for a separate reason. At least I think.

Oh and if you watch the recent “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” don’t get too attached to that Gorilla. That’s all I’m going to say about that.

Well never mind “The Walking dead” is back. My wife likes Hershel. Nothing can happen to him in a show like this right? Well something did. Actually at the time of writing, he is still alive. But for how much longer? Now I’m worried for the characters I like in other shows. What if my wife starts liking them too?

“Nonet” or not Nonet? That is the question. And below, the answer:

Last weeks one was interesting, so here is another attempt. Nonet = Nine lines, first line with nine syllables and dropping a syllable each line until the final ninth line has only one. The prompt, see above:

Once upon a time, far far away

a nice character came to be

bringing much joy to many

till the reaper appeared

my wife’s smiling face

Don’t get attached

that one will

end up

dead

We’ve come to an agreement now. My wife will be shut in the closet whilst a show I like is on. And no putting your ear to the door either.

Good job my wife has a sense of humour. Love you Mrs Brainsplats 🙂

Have a nice week, and tune in somewhen further down it for the next brainsplats blog post.

Lexicon word of the day: aberrant .

19 comments on “The Monday Mess – My wife the nice character killer – 22 Oct 2012

  1. DyingNote says:

    Ah, a much better nonet than the last one (not that the last one was bad). While I miss your haikus a bit, these nonets more than make up for them. For now, I actually like these more.

    And yes, once again a couple of things were prompted by the nonet, specifically the first line – the Star Wars trilogy (the initial lot) which sadly will make my wife strike me down if I play one more time and Dire Straits with ‘Once Upon A Time In the West’ which the wife, I’m happy to report, will be very pleased with. Happy wife it is then

    • Elliot says:

      I fancied a change from the haiku, or more specifically, from the prompts. Now I’m out most of the day with this job, the prompts were drying up a bit. The Nonetheless makes a change, but Tanka which I did a few weeks back (basically a slickly extended haiku), is also fun.

      Glad you are getting something from it.

  2. This nonet is very nice, I like these. I am one of those newly into Breaking Bad so am in the third season. Rarely see a series I like as much. I just have a feeling all is not going to end well there. Look forward to the next nonet.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Lynn. My wife and I love Breaking Bad. In the US they repeated seasons 1-3 before showing 4, which is when we first watched it, so that worked out well. The current and final season is split with 8 episodes that have aired over here already and the final 8 next summer.

      Some great acting all round, and that show really is a master at generating tension.

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Better watch out–it appears your wife has an ‘in’ with the Grim Reaper. 😉

    Loved your Nonet!

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks – I think I shall try keep her away from the next season of Justified (starting January).

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        The Justified season cannot start soon enough as far as I’m concerned. I wasn’t happy about it being completely dissed at the Emmy’s. Should have been nominated in lots of categories if you ask me (of course, they didn’t…) 😉

      • Elliot says:

        I’m looking forward to it as well. I read after the last season that one plan for this season was to do 3 or 4 shorter stories across several episodes each story, with each loosely connected. I guess we shall find out soon if they went with that approach.

  4. Margarita says:

    Sweet husband and I both love “Breaking Bad” and “Hell On Wheels.” He’s currently enamoured of “Copper” on BBC America. So, it seems that just stating your wife’s favorite character in a show is a spoiler! If you watch “Copper,” don’t tell me who she likes! lol

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Hmm, I have a similar problem with grocery stores. When I find a new item I like, you can bet within a few months that either the store will stop carrying it or the manufacturer will stop producing it. No offense to your wife, but I promise to avoid liking her favorite foods if she will avoid liking my favorite characters. 🙂

    • Elliot says:

      My wife used to have the same grocery problem when we were in the UK! It still seems to happen now when she wants some things sent over.

      I’m hoping she doesn’t start liking characters that I like first 🙂

  6. rtd14 says:

    What a great post! You guys sound like my husband and I. With Hell on Wheels, I was sad the Irish guy killed himself let alone the unnamed British woman getting killed and the unmentioned “Swede” escaping.

    But, I think everyone who is avid reader, movie watcher, or one who appreciates quality television feels the same about characters they grow attached to.

    A great writer creates characters people fall in love with and don’t wish to lose.

    • Elliot says:

      Thanks Rebecca – I think that is how you know a character works when there is enough about it, that people care when something significant happens to it. My a wife is a sucker for the nice characters which to me often stand out as not likely to survive, or going to have something bad happen.

  7. How funny! I had the reaper’s touch for a few years. But it was with companies. Wherever I worked, it went under for like 4 years I was the kiss of death. 🙂

feed the brain:

