The Monday Mess – Mysteries of Monday revealed – 12 Nov 2012

(Image courtesy of Microsoft Clip Art)

Once upon a time a music fan called Elliot, would look forward to Mondays because that was the day new music came out. He could wander down the local music store, and browse the new single and album releases. It was fun, at least for a music fan. Now most of these stores have closed, and he moved to the US where for seemingly inexplicable reasons, music comes out on a Tuesday. Monday you have a lot to answer for. Sadly that is not your only crime. I believe you are responsible for the following mysteries:

    • Why Mondays are depressing – Because it is the start of the working week for most people. Time stuck in an office, time stuck in a factory, time stuck in a shop, time stuck some place. See where I’m going? Sure you pay the bills, but wouldn’t you much rather be at home crashed out on the couch eating chocolate and watching the best that cable tv has to offer? For my writing friends, you can replace that last bit about the couch with “sat at a desk, staring at a laptop screen, tapping away at the keys worrying about word counts”.
    • Why Monday is too tired – You spend weekend with your family or friends, or doing something interesting or fun, trying to put off the fact that Monday is coming. You expend too much energy, and / or get too little sleep. Or your couple of days on the sofa is over. Time to get up and do something again. But you just don’t want to…
    • Why Monday is too long to the weekend – Assuming you work the standard Monday to Friday, or maybe even including Saturday, Monday is the furthest point from your time off doing something you want to. Unless you prefer being at work to being not at work, in which case, you need to take a serious look at your life.
    • Why monday is responsible for your life disappearing – Because you spend all week waiting for the week to fly by so you can enjoy the weekend. Then the weekend moves even faster. So the cycle starts again. Before you know it, you woke up in March thinking it will be Easter soon, and actually its almost Christmas. Your child, just a few months old is now almost two. You are wondering where your life has gone. Then it’s Monday and you want to see the weekend again.

You would think I don’t like my job wouldn’t you? Actually it is not bad, but would I still rather be at home with wifey and child? Answer: Watch out for Monday. If you look over your right shoulder, it is there at the back somewhere sniggering at you.

Nonet, Tanka? This week “Monday” in three Haiku

Poke me in the eye
or prod me with a sharp stick
please not be Monday

Where once we were young
we were never growing old
then Monday did come

The finger beckons
new musical gift for me
lost in sands of time

Although on the other hand, it does bring with it the Monday mess.

Have a nice week, and tune in somewhen further down it for the next brainsplats blog post.

Lexicon word of the day: Quincunx.

26 comments on “The Monday Mess – Mysteries of Monday revealed – 12 Nov 2012

  1. Dan says:

    All these comments about Monday are SPOT ON. I always have unrealistic expectations of weekends, which make Mondays just that much more difficult to take. I can never seem to get everything done that I want to on the weekend, but then when pressed to say what it was that I wanted to get done, I can’t articulate it.

    And I’m with you, I enjoy my job, but as I always say, there’s a reason they pay me to show up there every day! 😉

    • Elliot says:

      I always have lots I want to get done on the weekend but I am learning to reduce my expectations. Right now I figure that if I get to spend some time hanging out with my son and he enjoys it, then that is a decent return. Well with my wife also, but she knows what I mean about our son. Everything else is a bonus.

  2. Even worse than the actual Monday is the Sunday night blues and anxiety over the too soon to be here approaching Monday. No matter how prepared and secure I was about accomplishing the Monday tasks the feelings remained.

    • Elliot says:

      I haven’t experienced the sunday blues a lot lately as I’m trying to use my free time well, but I totally know what you mean. A job I worked in the past used to ruin my sunday evenings most of the time.

  3. Well, I left the corporate world in order to do what I wanted to do (write) and Mondays still kind of suck but not as much as they used to. I think it takes a while to really get over the Monday thing and that may never happen. It’s kind of engrained in us from a lifetime of working M-F, but that’s also what makes Fridays so great.

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Now that I’m taking some time off and working for “myself,” I don’t mind Mondays as much. I pretty much work every day of the week, so it’s nice to return to normal structure (i.e., the kids back in school for the week…) Now please don’t hate me because I just wrote that. I’m sure in the future I’ll be back to dreading Mondays.

    • Elliot says:

      I would not hate anyone for that. If I could work differently, I probably would, so I don’t begrudge anyone who can. I make it sound like my job now is bad, which it isn’t, but there are always ways to improve, if I had the options to do so.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    And now I’ll have the Boomtown Rats song running through my mind. This week, alas, Tuesday is my day in the office, so it will feel more like Monday.

    Ah for those school days when Monday still meant hanging out with friends between classes and at lunch!

    • Elliot says:

      You have a more nostalgic view of Mondays then I do. Oh no hang on, I opened with the bit about music buying. Maybe the nostalgia of Mondays is the only bit I really like 🙂

  6. robincoyle says:

    I may be on the only person on the planet who likes Mondays. I feel like I can start fresh!

  7. Oh, THAT’S why my life is disappearing… lol..so true though. nowadays i think its always either Friday or Monday. The week goes by quickly (busy job) and the wekend even quicker…

  8. DyingNote says:

    Never had a problem with Monday. It’s usually mid-week Wednesday that bothers me – that neither-here-nor-there day

  9. Margarita says:

    Mondays are just fine
    Neither villain nor hero
    Just another day!
    xoxoM

  10. Smaktakula says:

    Great word of the day. Another one I didn’t know, and which sounds dirty but isn’t.

    I don’t mind Mondays, and never have especially, even when I wasn’t self-employed. When Monday rolls around, it’s already started, you’re IN it. I used to dread Sundays, because it was the end of the weekend, but you had to go to bed early because school or work came the next day. The old Morrissey song “Every Day Is Like Sunday” resonates with me for that reason.

    Music coming out on Monday? That’s just weird and wrong. But then, if you drive on the wrong side of the street, you’re gonna get all kinds of funny ideas in your head.

    • Elliot says:

      Oh no, music on a monday is great, it starts the week off on the right note – sorry, couldn’t resist.

      I used to be like that on a sunday. Now my mindset has changed to enjoying the “free” time that I do have. I’m not going to ruin that by getting down about what is around the corner. I take your point about being in it, but at the start of it, that is the worst point for me.

feed the brain:

