Notes on where ideas come from 3 – Or when they don’t

(Image courtesy of Microsoft clipart)

(Image courtesy of Microsoft clipart)

A relatively short post for you today – It is not un-common for me to have a bunch of draft posts waiting to happen, or waiting to be completed, and posted. Some I might work on from time to time over a few weeks, others I will just pick up and complete. When it came to completing a post for this friday, I was completely uninspired. Nothing I had in the drafts I fancied picking up on. Nothing new was coming to mind. I had not had much time to work on blog this week, I thought about giving this friday’s post a miss. This was wednesday evening.

Thursday lunchtime I still did not seem too inspired, but I figured I could write a short post on being uninspired. Then I realized that fit in with the “ideas” posts, and suddenly I did have a post. You see, thinking about writing this topic, in this context, sparked something. It is a process of generating connections. Once you have a connection, an idea or two, and a context, then following the trail of more connections can begin. It may be something small or lead to something large, but where you choose to take it, is up to you.

So my question to you is, what do you do when feeling completely uninspired, but still want to put something out there? What gets you going / motivated?

In other news, whilst I have not been blog inspired over the last few days, I have had an idea for a bunch of small stories, which are just daft things, but may well make for an interesting experience on the blog. Well an interesting learning experience for me. They follow the adventures of one character trapped in a daft sci-fi scenario, but don’t worry, it isn’t too geeky, and is more humorous. I think I may develop this some more then see what I can come up with. Hopefully they will make for good reading.


Lexicon word of the day: Provenience (US) Provenance (UK).

18 comments on “Notes on where ideas come from 3 – Or when they don’t

  1. You make an excellent point in that even when we don’t feel ”inspired’ to write, if we simply put pen to paper something may come out of it. If nothing else, it encourages self discipline. Something usually comes of it, just like you proved with your post! 🙂

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    So far something has always come to mind that I feel inspired to blog about. Maybe that’s because I don’t post very often. But that being said, I do have a list of ideas for posts if I run out of fuel.

    • Elliot says:

      I go through bursts of ideas, but that is because I don’t think about it often. I like to have some ideas to go back to, because something else might pop into my head that I can add to it. When I posted daily, I had a lot more ad-hoc ones.

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Ah, a lexicon word of the day that I don’t need to look up. 🙂 I definitely go through stretches where I can’t find inspiration for the blog. But somehow, something will come up that I can cover. I won’t claim those are my best posts, but sometimes they will surprise me.

    • Elliot says:

      I think this one was simply me not being in the mood, and having other things to think about. Lately I like to have a number of ideas down to use, so if I do get stuck there are things there to use, or build upon. I just don’t have time to think about the blog like I did, so when I do have chance, it is useful to be able to jump right in.

  4. I don’t post *anything* unless I feel motivated. To get there, I might have several coffees 🙂 The muse generally starts flowing from that point.

    • Elliot says:

      That was closer to my routine when I was posting every day and had a lot more time. Now though the reverse. I usually am motivated or have some ideas, but when I don’t, then I have little time most days (not all) to get it going.

  5. When I’m feeling totally uninspired I turn to prompts of writing, and for blog ideas, usually other people’s blogs 😉

    Xx

    • Elliot says:

      I think after writing this, then thinking about it some more, that unfortunately it is a time thing. I would do what you state here in the past, or just pick up an earlier idea. However, uninspired with not a lot of time to do anything about it, isn’t a winning combination.

  6. DyingNote says:

    Quite often when nothing comes to mind for the blog, I do something totally different (apart from the visits to the neighbouring micro-brewery that I’d already mentioned) that I enjoy. These days it’s mostly running or cycling. Usually, something comes to mind after that stint of ‘focused unthinking’. Having said that, my big problem, as surely with many others, is with getting to put pen to paper or finger to key.

    • Elliot says:

      I think that time of “focused unthinking” is useful for ideas. The amount of times I have been driving home and an idea has popped into my head, or I’ve been running and suddenly a small writing problem has a potential solution. It is sitting down and doing something with it, that is posing me a little bit of a problem.

  7. Smaktakula says:

    When uninspired, I think the best thing to do is prime the pump. I know you’re no stranger to writing exercises, I think that’s a great way to go. And if you’re at a stumbling point in a particular thing you’re writing, get away from it. Write something else and come back tomorrow.

  8. Since I’ve started writing a blog, an idea for a weekly post always seems to emerge. Sometimes I get my ideas from friends, sometimes from my fellow bloggers!

feed the brain:

