The Monday Mess – End of year break – 17 Dec 2012

Back Monday 14th Jan 2013

Back Monday 14th Jan 2013, or maybe the 21st
(see more below)

The Monday mess, a weekly post that I have fun writing and playing with, and experimenting with small poetry forms, over the last few months, has something to announce. I am taking a break. I have too much work on over the Xmas and New Year period, which is a good thing, and the time I can get off I wish to spend with my family, relaxing or doing family things. At a push I could get in some writing, but realistically, I should use the time wisely. If I write, it should be on my other projects. Will I get chance to? I do not know.

So with that in mind, I’m taking the next four to five weeks or so away from the blog, with the intention of being back somewhere around the 14th January or the 21st January, depending on how it goes. This also means, because I shall be severely limiting my internet time, that I will not have much time for your blogs during this period either. Maybe a little reading, here and there, but will I get chance to? I do not know. So please, during this period, do not think I am ignoring you, I shall continue to read and hopefully catch up a bit when I return.

This blog which has been in existence since towards the end of February has been fun to play around with, fun to experiment and learn with, fun to keep my brain moving with, and I have met some great bloggers, readers and more. I thank you all very much for taking the time to read some of my posts, and I hope you have even enjoyed some of them. I have enjoyed many of yours. It has been a fun year on the blog. So with that in mind have a great Xmas and New Year. If it turns out to be the end of the world later this week, then at least I end with some thanks. Well almost, I will leave you with this little (work in progress) poem :

  • Without a title.

In thought about what was going on
Into his head popped
A vision of
Some washing hanging on a washing line
And a large wooden fence
And a dog.

It did not make sense
Because the linen was clean
What part of the cycle he was in
Get out of here
He thought then said
Did I close that garden gate?

It was time for a break
From the lap top screen
Seeing letters but not the words
When washing clothes is on the brain
You must see if they are dry
Then bring them in.

A change will be good
Said to his wife
She looked and smiled
And went back to her book
For he needed to get
To work

See you soon, and keep on blogging. – Elliot @ Brainsplats blog, xx

Lexicon word of the day: asperse.

19 comments on “The Monday Mess – End of year break – 17 Dec 2012

  1. Margarita says:

    Happy (Secular Holiday Season) Christmas, Elliot, and a wonderful 2013! xoxoM

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Enjoy your break. It does a body and mind good. And hopefully the world will still be around when you come back. Then again, if it isn’t, guess it’s pretty much a moot point…

  3. robincoyle says:

    We will miss you, but will be here when you get back. Enjoy your break. I’ve considered doing the same thing . . . recharge my batteries, if you will.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Definitely enjoy the break. Even Meghan’s taking a couple weeks off after tomorrow. 😉 We’ll be here when you get back.

  5. You’ll be missed but sometimes a break is necessary. Enjoy your time and your family and all that you do!

  6. DyingNote says:

    Enjoy your break Elliot

  7. Anne says:

    xoxo enjoy your time with your wife and son.
    merry christmas

  8. Smaktakula says:

    Merry Christmas! Will the La Familia Elliota be travelling across the pond for the holidays?

  9. rtd14 says:

    Brian, I will miss your blogs. Even though I have not had enough time to read as much as I want or write, I certainly understand. The division of time between work, family and the writing you want to accomplish take priority. Look forward to your return!

feed the brain:

